Double Click 728 x 90
Double Click 900 x 250

India officially splits occupied state of Jammu and Kashmir into two union territories

Anum RizwanWeb Editor

31st Oct, 2019. 04:35 pm
Double Click 160 x 600

India has officially split occupied state of Jammu and Kashmir into two union territories.

The mountainous region of Ladakh, previously a part of the state, has been separated and turned into another standalone territory from October 31, 2019.

Jammu-Kashmir and Ladakh, Two Union Territories

Modi-led government has announced to repeal the special status of occupied Kashmir and divide it into two union territories, Jammu and Kashmir and, Ladakh, which will directly be governed by Delhi.

Indian Administrative Service Officers, Girish Chandra Murmu and Radha Krishna Mathur, have been appointed the new Lieutenant Governors for the UTs of J&K and Ladakh respectively.

88th day of military siege in IOK

In occupied Kashmir, amid unprecedented Indian military lockdown, normal life in the Kashmir Valley and Muslim majority areas of Jammu region continues to remain disturbed for the 88th consecutive day, today.

People continue to observe complete shutdown as a mark of silent protest against the Indian occupation and revocation of the territory’s special status.

Shops and businesses establishments remain closed for most of the time except for few hours in the morning and evening while public transport is off the roads. Government offices and educational institutions are open but almost no one turns up.

Although the authorities have restored landline and some postpaid cellular connections but a total ban remains enforced on the internet and prepaid mobile phones.

Being unable to speak with their loved ones, millions of people are suffering emotionally and psychologically as a direct result of the continuing siege.

Double Click 300 x 250

Download BOL News App for latest news