Double Click 728 x 90
Double Click 900 x 250

EU to allow visitors from 14 ‘safe’ countries, US not in the list

Komal FatimaWeb Editor

30th Jun, 2020. 10:58 am
Double Click 160 x 600
EU to allow visitors from 14 'safe' countries, US not in the list

The European Union has declared 14 countries whose citizens are termed “safe” to be welcomed from July 1. The US, Brazil, and China are not on the list of these 14 countries.

Countries included in the safe countries by the EU are Algeria, Australia, Canada, Georgia, Japan, Montenegro, Morocco, New Zealand, Rwanda, Serbia, South Korea, Thailand, Tunisia, and Uruguay.

This list is likely to be amended. Diplomats say that the EU is willing to add China if the Chinese government presents a reciprocal deal for EU travelers.

EU has lifted EU border controls for citizens inside the bloc. Separate rules for UK travelers are made under the Brexit deal.

According to the international news agency, UK nationals will be treated the same way as EU citizens until the end of the Brexit transition period on 31st December. During that time, temporary travel restrictions will not be implemented on UK nationals and their family members.

The UK is talking about “air bridges” with many EU member states, so summer holidays will not be halted totally because of coronavirus.

The EU will finalize the list of safe countries by midday on Tuesday.

A qualified majority of EU countries – at least 55% of the EU countries, representing 65% of the EU population – have signed off on the list.

Coronavirus death toll exceeds 500,000 worldwide

The death toll due to coronavirus has exceeded 500,000 worldwide. On the other hand, confirmed cases exceeded 10 million toll.

According to the data provided by Johns Hopkins University, a total of 10,249,840

People are infected with a contagious respiratory disease called coronavirus. Out of these, 4,187,369 cases are active whereas 6,062,471 cases have been closed.

Double Click 300 x 250

Download BOL News App for latest news