What time is New Year 2021 around the world?

Syed Umarullah HussainiWeb Editor

31st Dec, 2020. 10:28 am
New Year 2021

New Year celebrations just few hours ahead, when whole world will be welcoming 2021 amid the novel coronavirus restrictions.

But, which country will be the first to witness the New Year eve celebrations and which will be the last, let’s find out below:

With 2021 arriving at different times across the world, here’s a breakdown on who will ring in the New Year first and last.

New Year Celebrations In The First Country

Although Fireworks in Sydney and New York, with London symbolizes the best celebrations.

However, it may surprise you to hear that Australia is not the first country in the world to welcome the New Year.

The Pacific island of Kiritimati will ring in the Year at 3 pm according to Pakistan Standard Time.

Kiritimati is 8 hours ahead of Pakistan.

This makes the tiny island nation the first to head into a fresh year with colorful New Year celebrations.

New Year Celebrations In Last

After travelling all around the world, the New Year eventually comes full circle – or near enough.

The last place or places to ring in 2021 will be the tiny outlying islands of the US.

Baker Island and Howland Island will the New Year at 5 pm according to Pakistan Standard Time Wednesday.

Second to last will be American Samoa, including Alofi, Midway, Pago Pago islands where locals and visitors were celebrating New year.

What Time Does New Year Arrive Around The World?

Using Time in Pakistan, this is when the world will welcome 2021:

  • Thu 3 pm – Christmas Island/Kiribati
  • Thu 4 pm – New Zealand
  • Thu 5 pm – Small region of Russia and 7 more including Anadyr, Funafuti, Yaren, Tarawa, Majuro
  • Thu 6 pm – Much of Australia including Melbourne, Sydney, Canberra, Honiara
  • Thu 6:30 pm – Small region of Australia including Adelaide, Broken Hill, Ceduna
  • Thu 7 pm – Queensland/Australia including Brisbane, Port Moresby, Hagåtña
  • Thu 7:30 – Northern Territory/Australia including Darwin, Alice Springs, Tennant Creek
  • Thu 8 pm Japan, South Korea including Tokyo, Seoul, Pyongyang, Dili, Ngerulmud
  • Thu 8:15 pm – Western Australia/Australia including Eucla
  • Thu 9 pm – China, Philippines including Beijing, Hong Kong, Manila, Singapore
  • Thu 10 pm – Indonesia, Thailand including Jakarta, Bangkok, Hanoi, Phnom Penh
  • Thu 10:30 pm – Myanmar and Cocos Islands including Yangon, Naypyidaw, Mandalay, Bantam
  • Thu 11:00 pm – Bangladesh including Dhaka, Almaty, Bishkek, Thimphu
  • Thu 11:15 pm – Nepal including Kathmandu, Pokhara, Biratnagar, Dharan
  • Thu 11:30 pm – India and Sri Lanka New Delhi, Mumbai, Kolkata, Bangalore
  • Fri 12 am – Pakistan, Tashkent
  • Fri 12:30 am – Afghanistan including Kabul, Kandahar, Mazari Sharif, Herat
  • Fri 1 am – Azerbaijan, Dubai, Abu Dhabi, Muscat, Port Louis
  • Fri 1: 30 am – Iran
  • Fri 2:00 am – Turkey, Ankara, Baghdad, Nairobi
  • Fri 3 am – Greece, Cairo, Athens, Bucharest, Johannesburg
  • Fri 4 am – Germany including Brussels, Madrid, Paris, Rome, Algiers
  • Fri 5 am – United Kingdom including London, Dublin, Lisbon, Accra, Reykjavik
  • Fri 3 pm – Small region of USA including Honolulu, Rarotonga, Adak, Papeete
  • Fri 4 pm – American Samoa including Alofi, Midway, Pago Pago
  • Fri 5 pm- Much of US Minor Outlying Islands, Baker Island, Howland Island
Adsense 300 x 250