UK musicians granted free visas for 19 European states


Web Desk

LONDON: British musicians and performers would not be needing work permits or visas in 19 European Union (EU) countries for temporary visits, said the British Department for Digital, Culture, Media and Sport (DCMS) on Wednesday.

The countries they can visit include Czech Republic, Belgium, Austria, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Poland, Slovakia, Slovenia and Sweden.

The department said that the arrangement was part of post-Brexit negotiations between Britain and the European Union.

Moreover, the DCMS has been actively engaging with the remaining EU member states that do not allow visa and free touring permit and calling on them to align their arrangements with Britain’s generous rules, which allow touring performers and support staff to come to Britain for up to three months without a visa.


Reportedly, Britain ended its EU membership on January 31, 2020; four and half years after the country voted to leave the regional bloc. Free movement of people between Britain and Europe ended from January 1, 2021 after the end of the Brexit transition period.–Xinhua

Read More News On

Catch all the International News, Breaking News Event and Latest News Updates on The BOL News

Download The BOL News App to get the Daily News Update & Follow us on Google News.

End of Article

Next Story