Kohli slapped with fine $16000 for maintaining slow over-rate against King XI Punjab

Syed Umarullah HussainiWeb Editor

25th Sep, 2020. 11:48 am
Virat Kohli

Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) captain Virat Kohli has been slapped with a fine of more than $16000 for maintaining slow over-rate against the King XI Punjab at the Dubai International Stadium.

According to the details, the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2020 said in its press release, that “As it was his team’s first offence of the season under the IPL’s Code of Conduct relating to minimum over-rate offences, Mr. Kohli was fined with $16,281.21 ( INR 12 lakh),” the IPL said in a release.

Kohli dropped two catches of slapcenturion KL Rahul, which proved to be costly, Kohli also could not contribute anything substantial with the willow.

Royal Challengers Bangalore conceded 74 runs in the last 4 overs and lost the match by 97 runs.

King XI Punjab posted a total of 206 runs on the board while Rahul remained unbeaten at the crease after a magnificent knock of 132.

While chasing, RCB never looked comfortable. Captain left the crease after scoring just one run in five balls.

AB de Villers scored an 18-ball 28 before giving his wicket to former RCB leg-spinner Murugan Ashwin. Washington Sundar was the highest run-scorer (30) for RCB in this match.

Kohli at the presentation after the match said,

“I have to stand in front and take the brunt of it, not the best day in the office, couple of important chances of KL when he was set and that cost us 35-40 runs at a later stage. Maybe if we restricted them to 180 we wouldn’t have been under pressure from ball one of the chase.”

IPL Background

The Mumbai Indians (MI) IPL franchise has been the most successful IPL team across all editions of IPL with 4 title wins followed by Chennai Super Kings (CSK), which has lifted the IPL trophy thrice.

Kolkata Knight Riders have won the IPL trophy twice while Sun Risers Hyderabad, Rajasthan Royals and Royal Challengers Bangalore have won the IPL title once each. Delhi Capitals and Kings XI Punjab are the only two teams that have never won the IPL title.

Adsense 300 x 250