Cricket Australia announces international summer schedule

Atta Ur Rehman KhanWeb Editor & Columnist

29th May, 2020. 12:46 am
Cricket Australia

Cricket Australia will host India and Afghanistan for Test series, while limited-overs internationals are scheduled against New Zealand, West Indies and India.

Australia scheduled limited-overs matches with Zimbabwe, New Zealand, West Indies and India.

According to the sources, Australia will host India and Afghanistan for Test series and New Zealand, West Indies, India and Zimbabwe for limited-overs matches.

Australia is lifting restrictions which were placed during the COVID-19 pandemic as Cricket Australia on Thursday, 28 May said that they are taking their first steps in resuming international cricket by announcing the schedule for their summer.

It is to be noted that that circumstances might force a change to the schedule.

The statemnt said, Australia paceman Mitchell Starc had welcomed the idea of a day/night Test against India, which will take place in Adelaide from 11 December.

“I think absolutely a pink-ball Test in the series against India is a great thing,” Starc said. “The fans love it, I think it creates a different aspect to the contest, bat and ball are closer together in that contest.

The schedule will start from August 9, 2020 with Zimbabwe, Australia will compete with West Indies from October 4 to October 9, the matches with India will be from 11 October to 17 October and Afghanistan will be hosted from November 21 to 25.

The series with India will be played from December 3 to January 17, 2021 and Australia vs. New Zealand will be from January 26, 2020 to February 2.

Full fixtures list:

Australia v Zimbabwe
9 August: 1st ODI, TBC
12 August: 2nd ODI, TBC
15 August: 3rd ODI, Riverway Stadium, Townsville

Australia v West Indies
4 October: 1st T20I, Riverway Stadium, Townsville
6 October: 2nd T20I, Cazaly’s Stadium Cairns
9 October: 3rd T20I, Metricon Stadium, Gold Coast

Australia v India
11 October: 1st T20I, Gabba, Brisbane
14 October: 2nd T20I, Manuka Oval, Canberra
17 October: 3rd T20I, Adelaide Oval, Adelaide

Australia v Afghanistan
21-25 November: Only Test, Perth Stadium, Perth

Australia v India
3-7 December: 1st Test, the Gabba, Brisbane
11-15 December: 2nd Test, Adelaide Oval, Adelaide
26-30 December: 3rd Test, Boxing Day Test, Australia v India at the MCG, Melbourne
3-7 January: 4th Test, SCG, Sydney

12 January: 1st ODI, Perth Stadium, Perth
15 January: 2nd ODI, MCG, Melbourne
17 January: 3rd ODI, SCG, Sydney

Australia v New Zealand
26 January: 1st ODI, Adelaide Oval, Adelaide
29 January: 2nd ODI, Manuka Oval, Canberra
31 January: 3rd ODI, Blundstone Arena, Hobart
2 February: Only T20I, SCG, Sydney

Also Read: ICC to take final decision on June 10 over T20 World Cup 2020

Adsense 300 x 250