IPL 2020 Points Table: Latest IPL Points table after KXIP Vs RCB

Muhammad UsmanMultimedia Journalist

25th Sep, 2020. 12:22 am
IPL 2020 Points Table

IPL 2020 Points table after Match between Kings XI Punjab (KXIP) Vs Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB).

Dubai hosts its fourth game today between Chennai Super King and Rajasthan Royal. Here’s the Points table for the 13th edition of the IPL.

KL Rahul thrashed an unbeaten 132 to help Kings XI Punjab (KXIP) get their first points in their second match of the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2020 with a 97-run win over Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) at Dubai.

IPL Points Table 2020

Team Position Matches Won Lost NR Net RR Points
KXIP 1 2 1 1 0 +2.425 2
MI 2 2 1 1 0 +0.993 2
RR 3 1 1 0 0 +0.800 2
DC 4 1 1 0 0 0.000 2
CSK 5 2 1 1 0 -0.145 2
RCB 6 2 1 1 0 -2.175 2
SRH 7 1 0 1 0 -0.500 0
KKR 8 1 0 1 0 -2.450 0


Current Orange and Purple Cap holders in the IPL 2020 edition

Orange Cap: KL Rahul (CSK), 153 runs

Purple Cap: Mohammed Shami (KXIP), 4 wickets

IPL Points System

There are 8 teams in IPL each will play seven matches at home ground and seven away matches in the league stage. The top 4 teams at the end of the league phase will qualify for the playoffs. During the league phase,the winning side will win two points in each match and one point will be awarded to both teams in case of no result or a washout. In case of a tie, the match will go into a ‘Super Over’.

The top 4 teams on the points table will qualify for the knock-out round. The top 2 teams on the points table will lock horns in the ‘Play-off’ and the winner qualifies for the Final.

8 teams will play against each other in-home and away matches. 2 points will be awarded to the winner of each match while 1 point is awarded to either team in case of no result. Matches will go into a ‘Super Over’ in case of a tie.The Indian Premier League (IPL) is back with its 13th season and all the 8 teams are ready to battle it out for T20 Crown. A lot of young talent and new faces will be on show in this year’s IPL along with the seasoned campaigners.

The teams which finish 3rd and 4th on the points table will fight it out in ‘Eliminator 1’. The winner moves into ‘Eliminator 2’ where they face the losing team from ‘Play-off’ for a place in the final.

IPL Background

The Mumbai Indians (MI) IPL franchise has been the most successful IPL team across all editions of IPL with 4 title wins followed by Chennai Super Kings (CSK), which has lifted the IPL trophy thrice.

Kolkata Knight Riders have won the IPL trophy twice while Sun Risers Hyderabad, Rajasthan Royals and Royal Challengers Bangalore have won the IPL title once each. Delhi Capitals and Kings XI Punjab are the only two teams that have never won the IPL title.




Adsense 300 x 250