AJK Elections 2021: Polling for the Legislative assembly ends

Roman AhmedWeb Editor

25th Jul, 2021. 05:51 pm

Polling for the Azad Jammu and Kashmir Legislative Assembly has ended.

5129 polling stations were formed for 3.2 million registered voters out of which 826 were proclaimed most sensitive and 1209 as sensitive implementing additional forces, stated the Election Commission.

Polling started at 08:00 am continued till 05:00 pm without any break. The ECP has further stated the voters who are on the grounds of the polling stations can cast their votes.

Whereas over 40 thousand security personals including PAK Army, FC, Rangers & Police performed duties to ensure peaceful polling.

According to data, 701 candidates are contesting for 45 general seats including 12 refugee seats in Pakistan. A tough contest is expected between three main political parties Pakistan Tehreek-e- Insaaf (PTI), Pakistan Muslim League Nawaz (PMLN), and Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP) while on 7 seats regional parties Muslim Conference (MC) and Jammu Kashmir peoples party (JK-PP)’s candidates are in a tough contest against candidates of major political parties, on 6 MC and on one JKPP.

A total of 32 political parties are contesting the elections and hundreds of independent candidates are also competing in all the 45 electoral constituencies involving 33 in AJK districts and 12 meant of Jammu and Kashmir refugees remained in various parts of Pakistan.

The remaining 8 seats are earmarked out of which five are for women, and one each for overseas Kashmiris, technocrats, and religious scholars.


Adsence 300X250