Azad Jammu Kashmir election: The five major constituencies to watch

Azad Jammu Kashmir election: The five major constituencies to watch

Azad Jammu Kashmir election: The five major constituencies to watch



As the AJK elections are coming near, the political activities are increasing in the region, there are 45 general constituencies of the Legislative Assembly of Azad Jammu and Kashmir that are up for grab when voters head to the polls.

Whereas, all three major political parties of Pakistan including the ruling PTI, PPP, and PML-N are in to win the AJK elections.

The last time AJK conducted a general election was in 2016 when the center-ruling PML-N formed government.

Let’s see who will be the new governing body of AJK? While the final results will be revealed on Sunday, political pundits and specialists are maintaining a close eye on these five major constituencies:

LA-3 Mirpur


Contestants: PTI’s Sultan Mehmood Chaudhary vs PML-N’s Chaudhary Muhammad Saeed

Background: In 2016 Saeed defeated Chaudhry from this constituency with just 3,000 votes. But later Saeed was declared ineligible by a court and by-elections had to be held. In the by-polls, Chaudhry won and was elected a member of the legislative assembly.

On Sunday, the two arch-rivals, Saeed and Chaudhry will compete against each other.

Problems of the constituency: Building of Rathoa Haryam Bridge in Mirpur, clean drinking water and electricity problems.

LA 7 Bhimber

Contestants: PTI’s Chaudhary Anwar ul Haq vs PML-N’s Chaudhary Tariq Farooq


Background: Former speaker, Anwar ul Haq, who recently joined PTI is up against senior minister Tariq Farooq, who has emerged successfully from this constituency thrice. In 2016, Farooq trounced Haq with over 2,000 votes. At that time Haq was an independent candidate.

Problems of the constituency: Joblessness, clean drinking water, no gas, no proper health resources.

LA 10 Kotli

Contestants: PPP’s Muhammad Yasin vs Muslim Conference’s Farooq Sikandar vs PTI’s Malik Muhammad Yousaf

Background: This is a city constituency, where former senior minister and leader of opposition Muhammad Yasin is contesting for the first time. He is also a candidate from his home constituency. His main rival is former prime minister and president Farooq Sikander Hayat’s son, Farooq Sikandar, who was elected as MNA from this constituency in 2016 on a PMLN ticket.

Meanwhile, Yousaf has formerly contested on a PMLN ticket twice and has now switched to PTI.


Problems of the constituency: clean drinking water, no proper sewage system, unemployment

LA 14 Bagh

Contestants: Former prime minister and head of the Muslim Conference’s Sardar Ateeq Ahmed Khan, vs PTI’s Major Lateef Khaleeq

Background: Khaleeq was previously in the Jamaat-e-Islami. This constituency is considered a winning constituency for the Muslim Conference, as in 2016, Ahmed Khan won with over 30,000 votes while Khaleeq came in third.

Problems of the constituency: The biggest problem is clean water, since the district is in a mountainous area, there are no natural springs. More than 100 schools are operating without proper construction, and the roads are in an inadequate situation.

LA 15 Bagh


Contestants: PTI’s Tanveer Ilyas vs PML-N’s Mushtaq Minhas vs Muslim Conference’s Raja Yaseen

Background: Ilyas is contesting for the first time, but he is backed by a powerful and notable group of the PTI. He is also being named as a possible candidate for prime minister of AJK. Another advantage to Ilyas has been the resignation of JI’s Abdul Rashid Turabi in favor of Ilyas.

Minhas is a former journalist and Yaseen was formerly a senior minister in the assembly.

Problems of the constituency: Roads are decrepit, major load shedding problem, lack of schooling and health facilities, joblessness


Read More News On

Catch all the Pakistan News, Breaking News Event and Latest News Updates on The BOL News

Download The BOL News App to get the Daily News Update & Follow us on Google News.

End of Article

Next Story