KPL will have seventh team next year: President Arif Malik

muzzamil mehboobWeb Editor

19th Aug, 2021. 12:31 pm
KPL will have seventh team next year: President Arif Malik

The Kashmir Premier League (KPL) organizers announced that a seventh franchise named Jammu Janbaz will be a part of the next season that will take place next year.

The announcement came from KPL president Arif Malik came just after the successful ending of the tournament in which six franchises – Rawalakot Hawks, Muzaffarabad Tigers, Kotli Lions, Mirpur Royals, Bagh Stallions, and Overseas Warriors – took part.

The tournament was played in Muzaffarabad Cricket Stadium from August 6 to August 17.

Arif also said that there will be a tournament for the youth of Kashmir in the next couple of months. He further added that an international standard academy will be established in the region in collaboration with the Shahid Afridi Foundation.

KPL 2021 Final

On the other hand, the final of the first season of KPL 2021 was played on Tuesday evening. The Hawks successfully defended their score of 169-7 by limiting the Tigers to only 161-9. The last four wickets were the turning point for the Hawks.

The stars with the ball were Asif Afridi and Hussain Talat who took six wickets combined to limit the Tigers after Muhamamd Hafeez won the toss and elected to bowl first.

Match summary


Bismillah Khan c Sohail Akhtar b Usama 30

Umar Amin lbw b Hafeez 23

Sahibzada Farhan b Arshad 28

Hussain Talat c Anwar b Hafeez 5

Kashif Ali b Wasim 54

Danish Aziz b Usama 4

M. Imran Randhawa not out 17

Asif Afridi run out 6

Mohammad Irfan Jr not out 1

EXTRAS (B-1) 1

TOTAL (for seven wkts, 20 overs) 169

FALL OF WKTS: 1-53, 2-53, 3-97,3-61, 4-97, 5-110, 6-157, 7-168.

DID NOT BAT: Shahid Afridi, Zaman Khan.

BOWLING: Mohammad Hafeez 3-0-26-2; Sohail Tanvir 3-0-32-0; Mohammad Wasim 4-0-36-1; Arshad Iqbal 4-0-27-1; Usama Mir 4-0-25-2; Inzamam-ul-Haq 2-0-22-0.


Zeeshan Ashraf b Shahid 46

Mohammad Hafeez c Farhan b Asif 25

Sohaib Maqsood b Shahid 15

Sohail Akhtar b Hussain 2

Sohail Tanvir c Farhan b Hussain 21

Anwar Ali c Imran b Hussain 7

Mohammad Wasim run out 22

Inzamam-ul-Haq b Asif 12

Usama Mir st Bismillah b Asif 0

Arshad Iqbal not out 0

Usman Arshad not out 0

EXTRAS (LB-6, W-4, NB-1) 11

TOTAL (for nine wkts, 20 overs) 161

FALL OF WKTS: 1-54, 2-88, 3-95, 4-97, 5-122, 6-142, 7-161, 8-161, 9-161.

BOWLING: Zaman Khan 3-0-37-0 (1w); Mohammad Imran Randhawa 1-0-6-0 (2w); Mohammad Irfan Jr 4-0-41-0 (1nb); Asif Afridi 4-0-21-3; Shahid Afridi 4-0-32-2; Hussain Talat 4-0-18-3 (1w).

RESULT: Rawalakot Hawks won by seven runs.

UMPIRES: Ahsan Raza and Aleem Dar.

TV UMPIRE: Asif Yaqoob.




Adsence 300X250