New Prime Minister of Azad Kashmir to be elected today

Aneela SiddiquiWeb Editor

04th Aug, 2021. 11:57 am
New Prime Minister

MUZAFFARABAD: Prime Minister of Azad Kashmir will be elected today before which an election will be held to elect the leader of the House.

The Election Commission has announced the timeline for the election of the House leader, according to details. Today, the process of submitting nomination papers began at 9 a.m. and will go until 11 a.m. At 12 p.m. today, the list of eligible candidates for the position of House leader will be publicized.

Barrister Sultan Mohammad, Azhar Sadiq, Sardar Tanveer, and Khawaja Farooq, all former prime ministers, have entered the race for House leader. Candidates for the leader of the House seat have been given the power to withdraw their nomination papers till 1 pm today. Polling will be held at 2 pm, with the PTI emerging as the largest force in the recent elections.

In the 53-member Legislative Assembly, the PTI is in a good position with 32 members to introduce its Prime Minister to Azad Kashmir. Six newly elected members, including six women, were sworn in earlier.

The Azad Jammu and Kashmir Election Commission announced on Sunday that the PTI won three reserved seats for women, taking its total number of seats in the AJK Legislative Assembly to 29.

Adsence 300X250