New Zealand Key Players To Miss The Series Against Pakistan

muzzamil mehboobWeb Editor

10th Aug, 2021. 10:09 am
New Zealand Key Players To Miss The Series Against Pakistan

New Zealand (NZ) skipper Kane Williamson and other senior players were excluded from tours to Pakistan and Bangladesh as the Black Caps elites are getting ready for the upcoming ICC Twenty20 World Cup.

New Zealand just confirmed their line-up for the World Cup and that they will be doing intense training to get ready for the tournament.

In addition to the series against Pakistan and Bangladesh, Black Caps also have a test match series in India for which the squad is yet to be announced next month.

New Zealand Cricket CEO David White said that the changing times require changing strategies.

“The need to safeguard the well-being of our players and support staff is now very real, and we’ve endeavoured to do this by carefully managing their workloads over this (year’s) massive playing programme,” White said.

NZ players will be allowed to re-join the suspended Indian Premier League (IPL) when it resumes in September.

“It’s a pragmatic approach. We’ve always tried to be realistic about the IPL and this particular issue is very much a one-off, caused by a unique set of circumstances,” White said.

In place of Williamson, Tom Latham will take the captaincy in the series against Pakistan and Bangladesh.

Ross Taylor will also stay home to get ready for the test series against India.

Black Caps squad for the Twenty20 World Cup and India Twenty 20s:

Kane Williamson (capt), Todd Astle, Trent Boult, Mark Chapman, Devon Conway, Lockie Ferguson, Martin Guptill, Kyle Jamieson, Daryl Mitchell, Jimmy Neesham, Glenn Phillips, Mitchell Santner, Tim Seifert, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee.

Squad for Bangladesh Twenty20s and Pakistan ODIs:

Tom Latham (capt), Finn Allen, Hamish Bennett, Tom Blundell, Doug Bracewell, Colin de Grandhomme, Jacob Duffy, Matt Henry (ODI only), Scott Kuggeleijn, Cole McConchie, Henry Nicholls, Ajaz Patel, Rachin Ravindra, Ben Sears (T20 only), Blair Tickner, Will Young.

Squad for Pakistan Twenty20s:

Tom Latham (capt), Finn Allen, Todd Astle, Hamish Bennett, Tom Blundell, Mark Chapman, Colin de Grandhomme, Martin Guptill, Matt Henry, Daryl Mitchell, Ajaz Patel, Ish Sodhi, Ben Sears, Blair Tickner, Will Young.

Adsence 300X250