Which Countries are on the green list? Updates on red, amber and green travel list changes

Shariq TahirWeb Editor

24th Aug, 2021. 03:03 pm
Which Countries on the green list? Updates on red, amber and green

The government’s traffic light system for overseas travel is likely to change this week, with countries added or deleted from the green, amber, and red list.

Foreign leisure travel was approved on May 17, but nations are classified based on how safe it is to travel to and from in the midst of the covid-19 outbreak.

There are now 36 nations and territories on the green list, many of which do not currently accept British visitors or are inaccessible directly, necessitating transit through an amber country.

Travel analysts have expressed optimism in recent days that Turkey will be removed from the ‘red’ travel list, with revisions likely tomorrow or Thursday (August 26).

Turkey is a popular destination for British tourists who have been unable to visit for over a year because of the coronavirus pandemic.

According to national news, specialists predict Turkey could be removed from the red list. Current regulations require travelers to spend ten days in quarantine in a hotel upon their return from the country, which may cost £2,285.

Pressure is increasing for Turkey to be designated as an amber country, which would allow all adults who have received two vaccine doses and children under the age of 18 to bypass quarantine upon their return to the UK.

Other popular destinations, including Spain, Portugal, and Greece, are likely to stay amber.

The 16 countries on the green list

  • Anguilla
  • Antigua & Barbuda
  • Barbados
  • Bermuda
  • British Antarctic Territory
  • British Indian Ocean Territory
  • Cayman Islands
  • Croatia
  • Dominica
  • Grenada
  • Israel
  • Madeira
  • Montserrat
  • Pitcairn Islands
  • Taiwan
  • Turks and Caicos Islands



Adsence 300X250