European Countries Re-Introduces Restrictions on US Travelers

Shariq TahirWeb Editor

09th Sep, 2021. 04:22 pm
European Countries Re-Introduces Restrictions on US Travelers

The European Union rated the United States as a safe travel market, encouraging tourists to return.

But that is how swiftly the delta variation of COVID-19 has spread in the United States, producing a dramatic rise in positive cases and prompting EU officials to remove the United States from its safe list, recommending its 27 member countries to reconsider allowing non-essential U.S. tourists admission.

An increasing number of countries are taking that counsel. Italy, Netherlands, and Sweden are the first to implement new regulations.

The Netherlands has reclassified the United States as ‘very high-risk.’ Unvaccinated American travelers would be denied entry, and those who are properly vaccinated will be subjected to a 10-day quarantine upon entering the nation. Visitors who are tested on the fifth day of their isolation may be able to leave quarantine early.

Sweden, which previously spared US visitors from a restriction on practically all non-EU immigration, has likewise removed the country from its permitted list.

Italy, one of the first European countries to open its borders early this year, has also implemented additional regulations impacting arrivals from all countries, including the United States. On August 31, it began requiring all visitors, regardless of vaccination status, to produce documentation of a PCR or antigen Covid test taken within 72 hours of travel.

Denmark will prohibit unvaccinated American visitors from entering the country while continuing to allow fully vaccinated US visitors without the need for testing or quarantine.

American travelers will be required to produce proof of complete vaccination, a certificate of recovery, or a negative COVID-19 test in order to enter Spain.




Adsence 300X250