Pakistan vs. New Zealand: PCB announce 20-member squad for the ODIs

Suhaib Ahmed

01st Sep, 2021. 07:32 pm
Pakistan vs New Zealand: PCB announce 20-member squad for the ODIs

Pakistan vs. New Zealand ODI series scheduled in Rawalpindi Cricket Stadium on 17th, 19th, and 21st September. The ODIs will be followed by 5 Twenty20s scheduled in Lahore Gaddafi Stadium on 25th, 26th, 29th September, 1st, and 3rd October.

Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) declared a 20-member squad for the 3 ODI series, with four players included Mohammad Haris, Mohammad Wasim Jnr, Shahnawaz Dahani and Zahid Mahmood.

Earlier, Pakistan drew a five-match away T20I series against West Indies 1-1, as 3 matches were washed out, whereas they also drew the following 2 Test series 1-1.

Pakistan last played ODI matches against England, where they suffered a 0-3 clean-sweep against England.

 Sohaib Maqsood, Agha Salman, Sarfaraz Ahmed, and Hasnain, were included in Pakistan’s ODI squad for the England tour. Sohaib, Hasnain and Sarfaraz were named for West Indies T20s, but with the upcoming T20 World Cup, PCB decided to give a look-in to some young prospects.

New Zealand is all set to tour Pakistan on 11th September after 18 years.

PCB has gained National Command and Operation Centre (NCOC) approval for having crowds inside the stadium, and around 4,500 spectators will be allowed to attend the ODIs, whereas around 5,500 spectators will be allowed to attend the T20Is.

The New Zealand squad has some prominent omissions due to the series’ clash with Indian Premier League 2021’s second leg, which will happen at the same time in UAE.

Pakistan Squad for New Zealand ODIs

Babar Azam (c), Fakhar Zaman, Imam-ul-Haq, Abdullah Shafique, Saud Shakeel, Khushdil Shah, Mohammad Rizwan (wk), Mohammad Haris, Iftikhar Ahmed, Shadab Khan, Mohammad Wasim, Faheem Ashraf, Mohammad Nawaz, Usman Qadir, Zahid Mahmood, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Hasan Ali, Rauf, Hasnain Ali, Shahbawaz Dahani

Adsence 300X250