Men’s T20 World Cup 2021: Complete list of players in South Africa squad

Web Desk BOL News

17th Oct, 2021. 11:07 am
T20 World Cup Squad 2021

T20 World Cup Squad 2021

South Africa announced its 15-member ICC T20 World Cup squad 2021 on September 9. Temba Bavuma – who has recovered from a thumb injury – will lead the Proteas in the ICC T20 World Cup.

Big manes including all-rounder Chris Morris, former captain Faf du Plessis, and leg-spinner Imran Tahir did not make it to the squad.

Keshav Maharaj, left-arm leg spinner, will make his ICC T20 World Cup debut. He played his first T20I against Sri Lanka at Colombo.

Maharaj also led the Proteas in the absence of Bavuma during their tour to Sri Lanka in September

The Proteas will start their tournament against Australia on October 23.

They are placed in Group 1 of Super12 with Australia, England, West Indies, and two qualifying teams from Round One.

South Africa T20 World Cup squad

Temba Bavuma (c), Keshav Maharaj, Quinton de Kock (wk), Bjorn Fortuin, Reeza Hendricks, Heinrich Klaasen, Aiden Markram, David Miller, W Mulder, Lungi Ngidi, Anrich Nortje, Dwaine Pretorius, Kagiso Rabada, Tabraiz Shamsi, Rassie van der Dussen

Reserves: George Linde, Andile Phehlukwayo, Lizaad Williams