T20 World Cup: Pakistan defeats West Indies in warm-up match

Web Desk BOL News

18th Oct, 2021. 08:05 pm
T20 World Cup: Pakistan defeats West Indies | 10th Warm-up match

Pakistan cricket team. Photo courtesy: Twitter

Pakistan on Monday defeated West Indies by seven wickets in the 10th warm-up match of the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup at the ICC Academy Ground in Dubai.

West Indies had set a target of 131 for Pakistan, which Babar Azam and his men chased down in 15.3 overs with seven wickets to spare.

Captain Babar Azam remained the top scorer, with a brilliant half-century. The right-hander scored 50 off 41 with the help of six fours and a six.

He was well supported by Fakhar Zaman, who remained unbeaten with his 46 from 24 balls. The left-hander smashed six boundaries in his innings.

Earlier, West Indies won the toss and opted to bat first. However, the defending champions never looked comfortable with the bat.

Their only resistance came from Chris Gayle (20), Shimron Hetmyer (28) and captain Kieron Pollard (23).

For Pakistan, Shaheen Shah Afridi and Haris Rauf had a relatively expensive outing with the bowl. They both conceded 41 and 32 runs, respectively in their four-over spells with two wickets apiece.

Meanwhile, the star with the ball was Imad Wasim, who bowled an economical three-over spell, conceding only six runs and a wicket.

They were well supported by pacer Hasan Ali, who also claimed two wickets for 21 runs in his four-over spell.

Pakistan will now face South Africa in the 15th warm-up match of the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2021 at Sheikh Zayed Stadium Nursery 2, Abu Dhabi.



Mohammad Rizwan (wk), Asif Ali, Babar Azam (c), Khushdil Shah, Mohammad Hafeez, Shoaib Malik, Shadab Khan, Imad Wasim, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Wasim Jr, Haris Rauf, Hasan Ali, Shaheen Afridi, Mohammad Hasnain, Azam Khan, Fakhar Zaman

West Indies:

Evin Lewis, Andre Fletcher, Lendl Simmons, Chris Gayle, Shimron Hetmyer, Kieron Pollard (c), Nicholas Pooran (wk), Andre Russell, Roston Chase, Hayden Walsh, Dwayne Bravo, Ravi Rampaul, Fabian Allen, Oshane Thomas, Obed McCoy