Physics Nobel Peace Prize 2020 awarded to 3 Scientists

Syed Umarullah HussainiWeb Editor

06th Oct, 2020. 04:27 pm
Nobel Prize

The 2020 Nobel prize in physics has been awarded to the three scientists for their work on black hole formation and the discovery of a supermassive black hole at the centre of our galaxy.

The announcement, as a customary was made at the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences in Stockholm.

Reinhard Genzel, Andrea Ghez and Roger Penrose together won the 114th Nobel prize in physics.

The award is worth 10m Swedish kronor (£870,000), which will be shared among the winners, with half going to Penrose and the other half shared between Genzel and Ghez.

Reinhard Genzel and Andrea Ghez, were honoured for their work in which they turned telescopes on our own galaxy and discovered there is a supermassive black hole in the centre of the Milky Way.

Penrose, a British mathematical physicist based at the University of Oxford, won the prize for using ingenious mathematical tools to prove that the formation of black holes is predicted by Einstein’s general theory of relativity.

Adsense 300 x 250