Double Click 728 x 90
Double Click 900 x 250

PML-N’s Rana Tanveer appointed as PAC chairman

Syed Umarullah HussainiWeb Editor

28th Nov, 2019. 01:06 pm
Double Click 160 x 600
rana tanver

Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) leader Rana Tanveer has been appointed as chairman of the Public Accounts Committee (PAC) on Thursday after the resignation of party president Shehbaz Sharif.

During the meeting, Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) Member of National Assembly (MNA) Sardar Nasrullah Khan Dreshak suggested the name of Rana Tanveer for the post of the committee chairman.

Meanwhile, PTI’s Amir Dogar and Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP) leader Raja Pervez Ashraf also supported Rana Tanveer’s name.

Responding to the decision, the PML-N leader thanked the participants for believing in him and said that reforms are required in PAC to improve its performance.

The sub-committees of PAC didn’t work as per expectations, he added.

Earlier, a seven-member parliamentary team, headed by Punjab Assembly Speaker Pervaiz Elahi, was formed to discuss the matter of PAC chairmanship.

The development came after Speaker National Assembly Asad Qaisar accepted the resignation of Opposition Leader in National Assembly (NA) Shehbaz Sharif from the post of chairman of PAC.

The PML-N president said his party had decided to appoint Rana Tanveer Hussain as PAC chairman and that he was bound to follow the decision.


Rana Tanveer Hussain has been a member of the National Assembly of Pakistan since August 2018. Previously, he was a member of the National Assembly between 1985 and May 2018.

He served as Minister for Defence Production and Minister for Science and Technology, in Abbasi cabinet from 2017 to 2018.

Previously he served as the Minister for Defence Production and the Minister for Science and Technology in the Third Sharif ministry. A leader of the Pakistan Muslim League (N), Hussain previously briefly held the cabinet portfolio of Minister for Defence Production during the Gillani ministry in 2008.

He has previously served as Parliamentary Secretary to Ministry of Finance, Special Assistant to the Prime Minister on Finance from 1997 to 1999 as well Parliamentary Secretary to the Prime Minister.

Double Click 300 x 250

Download BOL News App for latest news