Double Click 728 x 90
Double Click 900 x 250

PTI proposes names for CEC

Syed Umarullah HussainiWeb Editor

05th Dec, 2019. 10:34 am
Double Click 160 x 600

The present government has recommended three names for the post of Chief Election Commissioner (CEC) .

The names were proposed for the post as the tenure of Sardar Raza ends today.

Names of current ECP secretary Babar Yaqoob Fateh Muhammad, Fazal Abbas Maken and Arif Khan were suggested.

On Wednesday, a 12-member parliamentary committee, under the supervision of Minister for Human Rights Dr Shireen Mazari, had deferred the appointment of Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) members for a week.

The participants had decided to hire CEC and other members on the same time.

Earlier, PM Office had raised objections on the names recommended by opposition leader Shahbaz Sharif for the appointment of Chief Election Commissioner.

The suggested names were Nasir Mehmood Khosa, Jalil Abbas Jilani and Akhlaq Ahmed Tarar.

Shahbaz Sharif maintained that PM Imran should have initiated this process of consultation a long time ago.

The PML-N leader added that he is starting this procedure to prevent the ECP from getting non-functional.

The letter by PML-N president also comprised three names each from Sindh and Balochistan for their nominations as the ECP members.

From Sindh, the opposition leader had recommended Nisar Durrani, Justice (retd) Abdul Rasul Memon and Aurangzeb Haq.

The names of Advocate Supreme Court Shah Muhammad Jatoi, former advocate general Muhammad Rauf Atta and Rahila Durrani were also proposed from Baluchistan.

Double Click 300 x 250

Download BOL News App for latest news