Double Click 728 x 90
Double Click 900 x 250

Singh Govt revokes registration of 500 non-government organizations

Atta Ur Rehman KhanWeb Editor & Columnist

02nd Jan, 2020. 06:31 pm
Double Click 160 x 600
Sindh Government

Sindh government has canceled the registration of five hundred Non-Government Organizations (NGOs) working in the province.

According to details, the Sindh Government has revoked the registration of 500 NGOs. The decision has been taken as per the rules and regulations and under the decision of the provincial cabinet.

An official who was privy to the development said, some NGOs have been receiving funding from international donors and indulge in anti-state activities.

Sindh government canceled the registrations of NGOs

Besides, the meeting decided to amend the rules and ensure transparency in the pension releasing process for retired government employees. “Biometric verification of all pensioners would be done in order to abolish ghost pensioners,” said the spokesperson for CM House while referring to the meeting.

Earlier, Secretary of social welfare Nawaz Sheikh has said that the registration of over 5693 NGOs has been canceled till now.

He further said that the registrations of over 697 NGOs from Karachi, 263 NGOs of Sukkur and 40 NGOs OF Larkana have been canceled.

Nawaz Sheikh has further informed that these NGOs have not submitted audit and election reports. Therefore, this step was taken.

Note that the department of social welfare, the government of Sindh has canceled the registrations of 4 thousand 693 NGOs all over the province, the department has also issued notifications regarding this.

The registrations have been canceled due to inactivity and unresponsiveness.

It should be remembered that interior ministries have ordered 18 global NGOs last year to leave the country within 60 days for not following country laws.

Interior ministries have further said that among the NGOs who were ordered to leave, 9 belonged to the US, 3 belonged to the UK, 2 belonged to Holland and others belonged to Ireland, Denmark, and Switzerland.

Double Click 300 x 250

Download BOL News App for latest news