Double Click 728 x 90
Double Click 900 x 250

PSL 2020: PM accords ‘state guest’ status to Foreign players, officials

Aizbah KhanWeb Editor

16th Feb, 2020. 07:00 pm
Double Click 160 x 600

Prime Minister Imran Khan has accorded  the status of ‘state guest’ to the Foreign players and other officials coming to Pakistan for the fifth edition of Pakistan Super League (PSL 5).

According to the details, foreign players and officials including match officials, security consultants, and media persons who have come to Pakistan to cover the PSL 5  would be granted special status under the Prime Minister’s orders.

The Premier also issued the directives to all the provincial chief secretaries, chief commissioners, police chiefs, and other officials to provide special security to them.

PM said “all the foreigners are our guests” and instructed authorities to make special arrangements for their safety.

Pakistan is in the grip of PSL fever; the tournament is set to start February 20, 2020. The foreign players have started to join their respective teams.

The Pakistan Super League (PSL) returns with the historic fifth edition set to be played in Pakistan from 20 February to 22 March 2020.

PSL 2020-PCB hires commentators for commentary in Urdu

This edition of PSL 5 will be the first one to be played in Pakistan in its entirety, said an official press release by the PCB.

Since the advent of the league in 2016, the tournament has gradually moved to Pakistan with this year’s edition nothing less than leapfrog for the coveted league.

The first edition that included five teams was played entirely in the UAE; the second edition saw the first step towards its homecoming with the final between Peshawar Zalmi and Quetta Gladiators at the Gaddafi Stadium, Lahore.

The 2018 edition was the first instance that two Pakistani cities hosted the PSL matches.

Lahore was host to two play-offs while Karachi staged the final in which Islamabad United prevailed against defending champions Peshawar Zalmi.

It was also in this very season that Multan Sultans was added as the sixth franchise.

The 2019 season had an unprecedented eight games in Pakistan.

Karachi’s National Stadium was the host to all matches, including the three play-offs and the final between Quetta Gladiators and Peshawar Zalmi.

In which Quetta won convincingly to lift the prestigious HBL PSL trophy for the first time.

Double Click 300 x 250

Download BOL News App for latest news