Double Click 728 x 90
Double Click 900 x 250

Muslims to observe Shab e Mairaj with devotion tonight

Arhama AltafWeb Editor

22nd Mar, 2020. 03:05 pm
Double Click 160 x 600
Shab e Mairaj

Muslims across the globe on the 27th of Rajab (Isamic Lunar calendar) are going to observe Shab e Mairaj tonight.

Shab e Mairaj is an Arabic word.

It is divided into two words, Shab means Night and Mairaj means to ascend. Shab e Mairaj means ‘The Night of Ascending’.


The Night Journey, also known as Shab e Mairaj, Isra and Mairaj or Al Isra wal Miraj, observed on 27th day of the month of Rajab.

Shab e Mairaj literally translates to ‘The Night of Ascent’.

This event celebrates the night when the Prophet (S.A.W.W) ascended to the Heavens from Masjid Al-Haram in Makkah.

One of the great gifts of this night that obligatory Prayer (Fardh Salah) was instituted on Muslims.

Similar to other events and occasions of the blessed life of our Prophet (S.A.W.W), the Night Journey is a rich source of inspiration and lessons for the entire humanity.


Isra and Mairaj took place approximately 10-12 years after Prophet (S.A.W.W) received revelation from Allah.

This was a time of great sorrow and grief for the Prophet (S.A.W.W) because of the recent deaths of his beloved wife Khadijah (R.A.) and his uncle Abu Talib.

However, in this difficult times, Prophet (S.A.WW.) was honored with direct contact with Allah through this blessed journey.


This miraculous journey of Mairaj took place in two parts.

First, Prophet Mohammad (S.A.W.W) went from Makkah (Kaaba) to Jerusalem (Masjid Al-Aqsa).

Then he (S.A.W.W) was ascension to the heavens by Allah.

The night started off with leader of all Angels Jibrael (A.S.) appearing before the Prophet (S.A.W.W).

Subsequently, he took Mohammad (S.A.W.W) from the Masjid Al-Haram (Kaaba) to the Masjid Al-Aqsa in Jerusalem.

This part of Prophet’s (S.A.W.W) journey is mentioned in Quran:

“Exalted is He who took His Servant by night from al-Masjid al-Haram to al-Masjid al-Aqsa, whose surroundings We have blessed, to show him of Our signs. Indeed, He is the Hearing, the Seeing.” (Surah Al-Isra 17:1)

The mode of transportation used for this commute in the middle of the night was an animal, similar to horse, called Al-Burraq which was sent by Allah from Jannah (Paradise).

After riding this heavenly ride, he (S.A.W.W) reached Masjid Al-Aqsa from Masjid al-Haram in just a second.

On reaching Masjid Al-Aqsa, Prophet Mohammad (S.A.W.W) realized that all the other Prophets, who came before him, were already present there.

These Prophets includes Ibrahim (A.S.), Isa (A.S.), Musa (A.S.) and all other Prophets.

Over here Mohammad (S.A.W.W) led all of the Prophets in two Rakat prayer.


In the second part of Isra and Mairaj, Jibrael (A.S.) took Prophet (S.A.W.) to the heavens.

Through his ascension, Prophet Mohammad (S.A.W.W) stopped by the all seven layers of the heaven/sky.

Messenger of Allah (S.A.W.W) met the following great Prophets on each heaven:

  1. On first heaven, Prophet Adam (A.S.)
  2. On second heaven, Prophet Isa (A.S.) and Prophet Yahya (A.S.)
  3. Third heaven, Prophet Yusuf (A.S.)
  4. Fourth heaven, Prophet Idris (A.S.)
  5. Fifth heaven, Prophet Haroon (A.S.)
  6. Sixth heaven, Prophet Musa (A.S.)
  7. Seventh heaven, Prophet Ibrahim (A.S.)


The Messenger of Allah (S.A.W.W) was given three things during this blessed journey:

1-     Five daily Prayers (which equal to the reward of fifty daily Prayers). (Sahih Bukhari: 7517)

2-     Concluding verses of Surah Al-Baqarah (Last Two Verses).

3-     Allah’s Promise that the sins of the Ummah of Mohammad (S.A.W.) would be forgiven except those who died associating partners with Allah. (Sahih Muslim: 173)

Double Click 300 x 250

Download BOL News App for latest news