FBR releases tax directory of parliamentarians

Syed Umarullah HussainiWeb Editor

18th Sep, 2020. 01:18 pm

The Federal Board of Revenue (FBR) has released details of the tax directory for the tax year (TY) 2018 of all members of the parliament.

According to the details, Prime Minister Imran Khan paid Rs 282,449 in taxes in 2018. The opposition leader in the National Assembly Shahbaz Sharif paid a tax of Rs 97,30,545.

Chairman Pakistan Peoples Party Bilawal Bhutto paid tax of Rs. 294,117 in 2018.

Pakistan Peoples Party Co-Chairman Asif Ali Zardari paid Rs. 28 lac 91 thousand 455.

Industry Minister Hamad Azhar paid Rs 22,445 in taxes.

Foreign Minister Shah Mehmood Qureshi paid Rs. 183,900 and Opposition Leader Punjab Assembly Hamza Shahbaz paid Rs. 87,05,368 in taxes.

Ameer of Jamaat-e-Islami Sirajul Haq paid Rs. 216,800, Information Minister Shibli Faraz Rs. 367,460 and Azam Khan Swati Rs. 590,916.

According to the FBR, Chaudhry Tanveer Ahmed paid Rs. 32,038,733, Defense Minister Pervez Khattak paid Rs. 1,826,899, and Planning Minister Asad Umar paid Rs. 5,346,342 in taxes.

Railway Minister Sheikh Rashid paid Rs 579,011, Federal Minister Ghulam Sarwar Rs 1,046,669, and Federal Minister Murad Saeed Rs 374,728.

Federal Minister Ali Zaidi paid Rs. 896,191, Fawad Chaudhry Rs. 1,698,651 and Pakistan Muslim League Nawaz leader  Rana Sanaullah Rs. 1,388,075 in taxes.

Federal Minister for Maritime Affairs Ali Zaidi gave 896,191, former prime minister and Pakistan Muslim Leaguer Nawaz Leader Shahid Khaqan Abbasi 241,329,362, Sada Rafique 29,49,200, Rana Tanveer Hussain 386,751 and PML-N leader Ahsan Iqbal paid Rs. 367,100 in taxes.

According to FBR, former defense minister Khawaja Asif paid Rs. 437,119, Chaudhry Salik Hussain Rs. 497,000, Monis Elahi paid Rs. 5,168,918 and Speaker Punjab Assembly Pervez Elahi paid Rs. 2,071,196 in taxes.

Former Health Minister Amir Mahmood Kayani and Federal Minister for Water Resources Faisal Vawda did not pay any tax in 2018.

Province Wise Details

Punjab had paid Rs269 billion, Balochistan Rs13 billion, Sindh Rs349 billion, Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Rs29 billion, and Islamabad Capital Territory (ICT) paid income tax worth Rs 115billion.

They said that FBR had collected Rs76 billion worth income tax from Association of Persons (AoPs), Rs497 billion from companies, while Rs129 billion from salaried individuals and Rs185 billion from non-salaried individuals in the TY 2018.

How Many Filed Tax?

1,356,813 individuals of the Punjab region filed tax, while 632,583 individuals from the Sindh region, 35,045 individuals from the Balochistan region, 133,745 individuals from Khyber Pakhtunkhwa region, and 114,987 individuals belonging from ICT paid tax in TY 2018.

Adsense 300 x 250