Who will be the new chief minister of Gilgit Baltistan?

Komal FatimaWeb Editor

27th Nov, 2020. 12:21 pm
GB minister

The decision for the appointment of the new Chief Minister of Gilgit Baltistan is expected to be taken on Friday (today).

A per the details, Prime Minister Imran Khan has called an emergency meeting today to finalize the names for the position of the chief minister and other cabinet members for Gilgit Baltistan.

The Premier will chair the meeting while Federal Minister for Kashmir Affairs and Gilgit-Baltistan Ali Amin Gandapur will arrive in Islamabad to attend it.

Sources said that the names of the upcoming officeholders will be announced. Barrister Khalid Khurshid and Fatehullah Khan are the strong nominees for the position of Chief Minister.

Moreover, sources said that Javed Manawa is expected to be GB’s next finance minister, Raja Nasir Abbas is likely to be given responsibilities of Sports, Culture, and Tourism. Wazir Kaleem and Raja Azeem are likely to be the new ministers for the department of works and education, respectively.

Syed Amjad Zaidi Elected Speaker, Nazir Advocate Deputy Speaker

Syed Amjad Zaidi and Nazir Advocate of Tehreek-e-Insaf coalition were elected as Speaker and Deputy Speaker of Gilgit-Baltistan Legislative Assembly respectively.

In the Gilgit-Baltistan Assembly session, the election of Speaker and Deputy Speaker was carried out by secret ballot.

According to Speaker Fida Mohammad Nashad, PTI candidate Syed Amjad Zaidi got 18 out of 23 votes in the election, 4 votes of the coalition were lost and one was cast in favour of the opposition.

Opposition Alliance candidate for Speaker Ghulam Muhammad got 8 out of 9 votes out of which 2 votes were lost.

Adsense 300 x 250