Newly elected CM of Gilgit Baltistan to take oath today

Syed Umarullah HussainiWeb Editor

01st Dec, 2020. 09:48 am
Muhammad Khalid Khursheed

Newly elected Chief Minister of Gilgit Baltistan Muhammad Khalid Khursheed will take oath at Governor House today.

According to the details, Governor Gilgit Baltistan Raja Jalal Hussain Maqpoon will administer an oath to him. The ceremony will be attended by elected representatives of the Gilgit Baltistan Assembly, officials and notables, and leaders of PTI.

The election for the leader of the house of the Gilgit Baltistan Assembly was held through a show of hands in the GB Assembly Hall in Gilgit.

Muhammad Khalid Khursheed got 22 votes while the opposition nominated candidate Amjad Hussain secured 9 votes. Speaker Syed Amjad Ali Zaidi presided over the session.

The GB legislature consists of a total of 33 members; 24 directly elected and nine on reserved seats and 21 members belong to PTI whereas PPP is the second-largest party in the assembly with four members.

Syed Amjad Zaidi Elected Speaker, Nazir Advocate Deputy Speaker

Syed Amjad Zaidi and Nazir Advocate of Tehreek-e-Insaf coalition were elected as Speaker and Deputy Speaker of Gilgit-Baltistan Legislative Assembly respectively.

In the Gilgit-Baltistan Assembly session, the election of Speaker and Deputy Speaker was carried out by secret ballot.

According to Speaker Fida Mohammad Nashad, PTI candidate Syed Amjad Zaidi got 18 out of 23 votes in the election, 4 votes of the coalition were lost and one was cast in favor of the opposition.

Opposition Alliance candidate for Speaker Ghulam Muhammad got 8 out of 9 votes out of which 2 votes were lost.

Adsense 300 x 250