Double Click 728 x 90
Double Click 900 x 250

Senate Elections Not Possible Before February 10, ECP Clarifies

Aizbah KhanWeb Editor

21st Dec, 2020. 09:52 pm
Double Click 160 x 600
ECP Senate election

The Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) has said in an explanatory statement on the ongoing speculations regarding the Senate elections that under the Constitution, Senate elections cannot be held before February 10.

A statement issued by the ECP said, “For the past few days, there have been various speculations in the media regarding the conduct of the Senate elections and also on the responsibilities of the Election Commission, which has created some ambiguity.”

“It is now felt that the situation should be clarified in the light of the Constitution and the law. Half of the members of the Senate of Pakistan will retire on March 11, 2021, after completing their six-year term,” the statement said.

The ECP said that under sub-article three of Article 224 of the Constitution, elections cannot be held earlier than 30 days on the seats which become vacant after the expiry of their term.

Explaining in its statement, the ECP said, “Elections to these vacant seats cannot be held before February 10, 2021, as per the Constitution.”

“The last four to five elections have been held in the first week of March and this time too the Election Commission will announce the date of these elections in due course in the form of an election program in accordance with the Constitution and the law,” the statement said. ۔

The ECP clarified that under Article 218 (3), 224 (3) of the Constitution and Section 107 of the Election Act 2017, holding Senate elections is a constitutional and legal responsibility of the Election Commission and the Election Commission has this responsibility. Is committed to fulfilling.

By-election schedule

On the other hand, the Election Commission of Pakistan also released the schedule of by-elections in seven constituencies of the National and Provincial Assemblies.

According to the schedule, polling will be held on February 19 in NA-45 Karam One and NA-75 Sialkot Four, Punjab Assembly constituency PP-51, Gujranwala One and KP Assembly constituency PK-63 Nowshera III.

Polling will be held on February 16 in Sindh Assembly constituencies PS 43 Sanghar III, PS 88 Malir II and Balochistan Assembly constituency PB 20 Pishin III.

The Election Commission has banned the appointment and transfer of government officials in seven constituencies in view of by-polls in seven constituencies of the National and Provincial Assemblies, which will remain in force till the notification of successful candidates is issued.

Double Click 300 x 250

Download BOL News App for latest news