Pakistan Not Bound By Nuclear Prohibition Treaty, Says Foreign Office

Aizbah KhanWeb Editor

30th Jan, 2021. 12:23 am
Pakistan Not Bound By Nuclear Prohibition Treaty, Says Foreign Office

Foreign Office said, “Pakistan does not consider itself bound by any of the obligations of the Treaty on the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons and the agreement does not constitute a part of conventional international law.”

A statement from the State Department stated that the agreement reached in July 2017 was outside the framework of the UN Arms Talks.

The statement said that no nuclear-armed country, including Pakistan, has participated in the agreement, which has failed to serve the legitimate interests of all stakeholders.

According to the agreement, many countries that do not have nuclear capabilities also refrained from becoming parties to the agreement.

The Foreign Office said that the UN General Assembly had agreed to this in its first special session in 1978 for nuclear disarmament.

The General Assembly agreed that every state’s right to security must be taken into account and the goal of arms and military security at the lowest possible level for all countries must not be undermined at every stage of the disarmament process

The Foreign Office said that Pakistan believes that this goal can only be achieved through cooperation and a mutually agreed agreement at the global level, which is based on consensus with the participation of all stakeholders and the results are equal for all countries. Be above security threats.

The agreement aims to eliminate the use, development, testing, stockpiling and the threat of nuclear weapons.

The Foreign Office said that the security of all countries must be given top priority in any step towards the reduction of nuclear weapons.

The statement further said that Pakistan does not intend to adhere to any of the provisions of this agreement. Pakistan insists that this agreement does not fall under international law in any way.

It should be noted that 122 countries had taken steps in this regard in the UN General Assembly in 2017 and at the end of October 2020, 50 countries had approved its implementation from last Friday.

Campaigners for the destruction of nuclear weapons are still hopeful that the agreement will not be symbolic, even though it does not include any of the world’s major nuclear powers.

The United States and Russia are the two countries in the world with 90% of the world’s nuclear weapons, followed by China, France, Britain, Pakistan, Israel and North Korea.

Most countries insist they have nuclear weapons for self-defence and will never use them for aggression.

Countries that refuse to sign the treaty say they have already signed a non-proliferation treaty aimed at preventing the spread of nuclear weapons.

Japan has also refused to join the treaty, which is the only country to be affected by nuclear weapons, and says its implementation is ambiguous without the participation of global nuclear powers.

Adsense 300 x 250