Senate Elections: Candidates For 7 General Seats From Punjab Elected Unopposed

Aizbah KhanWeb Editor

25th Feb, 2021. 07:07 pm
Senate Elections

Candidates for 7 general seats of the Senate from Punjab were elected unopposed.

According to the Election Commission of Punjab sources, the winners include 3 candidates from PTI, 3 from PML-N, while 1 candidate elected from PML-Q.

Sources said that PTI’s Ejaz Chaudhry, Saifullah Niazi and Aun Abbas succeeded unopposed. PML-N’s Irfan Siddiqui, Prof. Sajid Mir and Afnanullah Khan also elected.

Sources further added that Kamil Ali Agha of PML-Q won the general seat. Earlier, Ali Zafar Advocate and Azam Nazir Tarar had won two technocrat seats.

Dr Zarqa Taimur and Sadia Khaqan Abbasi are included in the two women’s seats. Punjab will no longer have polling for Senate seats.

The Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) is likely to become the largest party in the upper house with 28 seats after the 2021 Senate elections, while the number of government and opposition members in the 100-member house is expected to be almost equal.

PPP is likely to become the second-largest party with 19 seats, PML-N third with 18 seats and Balochistan Awami Party fourth with 12 seats.

According to Election Commission officials, elections will be held for 48 Senate seats this time. There will be no elections for FATA seats, which will reduce the number of Senate seats from 104 to 100.

Given the party’s current position in the provincial assemblies, the PTI is likely to win 21 new seats in the Senate elections. The PTI currently has 14 seats in the Senate.

The PTI expects 10 senators from its home ground, the Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Assembly, six from Punjab, two from Islamabad, two from Sindh and one from Balochistan. Thus, with 28 seats, the PTI will become the largest party in the Senate for the first time in parliamentary history. The PTI was first represented in the Senate in 2014.

The PPP’s seats in the Senate will be reduced from 21 to 19 PPP senators will retire. All these members are from Sindh. PPP is likely to get 5 new seats from Sindh.

The largest opposition party, the PML-N, will have the highest number of 17 senators retiring. Eleven of the PML-N senators will retire from Punjab, while two each from Balochistan, Khyber Pakhtunkhwa and Islamabad. Thus, the PML-N’s seats in the Senate will be reduced from 30 to 18. PML-N is likely to get 5 new seats in the Senate from Punjab alone.

Adsense 300 x 250