New Senate Members To Be Sworn In On March 12

Arhama AltafWeb Editor

04th Mar, 2021. 05:38 pm
New Senate Members oath taking ceremony

The successful new members of the Senate will take oath on March 12, the Senate Secretariat has announced here on Thursday.

The occupancy of the former and retiring senators will end on March 11. However, the oath taking ceremony will take place on March 12 in the morning.

While, the election for the Senate chairman and deputy chairman will be held the same afternoon, Senate Secretariat added.

On the other hand, Prime Minister Imran Khan has nominated Sadiq Sanjrani as the new Senate Chairman.

“Prime Minister Ìmrañ Khan has announced Sadiq Sanjrani for Senate Chairmanship,” a tweet by Minister for Information and Broadcasting Shibli Faraz read.

Earlier in July 2019, the opposition had submitted a resolution of no-confidence against Sadiq Sanjrani as a first-step towards mounting pressure on the PTI-led coalition government.

However, Sanjrani survived the no-trust vote after 14 lawmakers from the opposition ditched their party leadership by either voting against their own resolution or deliberately wasting their votes.

It is pertinent to mention here that the Senate elections 2021 ended with the ruling party Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) emerging at the top with 26 seats, followed by PPP with 20.

In a major Senate upset, PPP’s Yousaf Raza Gilani secured victory against PTI’s Dr. Abdul Hafeez Sheikh for the general seat.

Gilani had gained 169 votes whereas Abdul Hafeez Shaikh bagged 164 votes.

Adsense 300 x 250