Sanjrani, Gilani to face off for Senate chairmanship on March 12

Arhama AltafWeb Editor

11th Mar, 2021. 06:01 pm

The successful new members of the Senate will take oath on March 12, the Senate Secretariat had announced.

The occupancy of the former and retiring senators will end on March 11 (today). However, the oath-taking ceremony will take place on March 12 in the morning.

While the election for the Senate chairman and deputy chairman will be held the same afternoon, Senate Secretariat added.

On the other hand, Prime Minister Imran Khan has nominated Sadiq Sanjrani as the new Senate Chairman.

The Senate will also choose its chairman and deputy chairman after the oath-taking ceremony on Friday, March 12.

After that, the nomination papers will be presented for the chairman and deputy chairman slots. And the session will later resume on Friday evening to announce who wins the positions of chairman and deputy chairman of the Upper House.

The Opposition alliance Pakistan Democratic Movement (PDM) has drafted PPP’s Yousaf Raza Gillani and JUI-F’s Ghafoor Haideri for the Senate chairman and deputy chairman slots, respectively.

On the other hand, the incumbent PTI-led government has nominated Sadiq Sanjrani and Mirza Muhammad Afridi for the selected-to-be slots of the Upper House.

Earlier in the day, Minister for Information and Broadcasting Shibli Faraz informed that Prime Minister Imran Khan nominates Senator Mirza Mohammad Afridi for Deputy Chairman Slot.

“Prime Minister Imran Khan has nominated Senator Mirza Mohammad Afridi for Deputy Chairman Slot giving representation to Ex FATA PTI member,” his tweet read.

Adsense 300 x 250