Sanjrani Vs Gillani: Knife-Edge elections for Senate top posts today

Syed Umarullah HussainiWeb Editor

12th Mar, 2021. 09:51 am

The Senate will be electing its Chairman and Deputy Chairman through secret ballot after the oath-taking of newly elected members of Upper House of the Parliament in Islamabad today.

When Will The Session Start?

The session will meet in the morning at 10:00 a.m. for oath-taking of the newly elected senators.

Who are Contesting?

Sadiq Sanjrani of Pakistan Tehreek e Insaf (PTI) is up against Pakistan Democratic Movement’s (PDM) joint candidate Yousaf Raza Gillani for the position of Chairman Senate, whereas Maulana Abdul Ghafoor Haideri of Jameeat e Ulema Islam (F) will be in a poll fight for the slot deputy chairman against PTI’s Mirza Muhammad Afridi.

Who is the Presiding Officer?

Senator Sayed Muzafar Hussain Shah has been nominated as the presiding officer. The nominated presiding officer will administer the oath of the members-elect.

Then the newly elected 48 senators will sign the roll of the members, after which the presiding officer will announce the schedule for the election of the chairman and the deputy chairman of the Senate.

Second Session

After the Friday prayer, the session of the Senate will resume at 3 p.m. and a second chance will be given to new elected members, if any, to take oath.

Later, the names of candidates for the slot of Chairman Senate will be announced and election will be held through secret ballot.


Result of the election for the slot of Chairman Senate will be announced on the same day and the successful candidate will take oath of his office and preside over the remaining session.

The new chairman will conduct election for the office of deputy chairman senate and administer oath of the returned candidate.

Adsense 300 x 250