Senate Elections 2021 Results: Senate Elections Live Updates

Arhama AltafWeb Editor

03rd Mar, 2021. 06:01 pm
Senate Elections 2021 Results and Live Updates

Complete polling for the 37 seats during the Senate Elections 2021 has come to an end and the counting has begun.

According to details, the doors of the National Assembly (NA) Hall have been shut after the end of polling time.

However, Results for the Senate Elections have started pouring in as counting of votes continue.

The voting process was held under the supervision of the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) with a total of 78 candidates contesting from Sindh, Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, Balochistan and Islamabad. The counting of votes is currently underway.

ECP Failed In Performing Its Duty: FM Qureshi

The Foreign Minister said that this decision came into consideration after a proper settlement with the party members.

PPP’s Yousaf Raza Gilani’s victory in Senate election clearly shows that they used all negative tactics to win the seat, he added.

FM Qureshi further added, “The nation will now know as to who is standing on which side.”

The PTI will continue its struggle for the transparency of election process in the country, added the minister.

He went on to add that “the government tried all its efforts to pave way for Senate elections, however, the opposition foiled all such attempts”.

Qureshi held the ECP responsible for the unfair Senate Elections’ result. “The ECP failed in performing its duty,” lamented the minister.

PM Imran Should Resign Now: Bilawal Bhutto

Bilawal said, “Everyone has seen the result of no-confidence in the government’s policies.”

Prime Minister [Imran Khan] should now resign, he added.

“We will now be attacking the incumbent government from every side and will send them packing as soon as possible,” the PPP leader said.

On the other hand, the winning PPP candidate Gilani extends thankfulness to all party leaders and added, “PDM won all the Senate elections besides also winning the key seat of Senate from Islamabad”.

Prime Minister Imran Khan is the only solution towards Pakistan’s development: Shibli Faraz

Following Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP) leader and Former Prime Minister Yousaf Raza Gilani’s victory in the Senate Elections today, the ruling party of PTI has termed this victory as clear ‘rigging’.

Minister for Information and Broadcasting Shibli Faraz said that Prime Minister Imran Khan’s concern about ‘horse-trading’ in the Senate election proved to be true.

The Prime Minister is striving for transparency in the election, Faraz added. He further added that in the history of the country, democracy has been mocked today.

The minister further added that this corrupt system has paralyzed the country, the Senate election has proved that looting has come to power, Pakistan has become poor and their essential assets and properties have been shifted abroad.

Prime Minister Imran Khan is the only solution towards Pakistan’s development, he added.

Gilani’s victory is in fact a defeat for democratic values, Firdous

Taking to Twitter, SAPM to Chief Minister Punjab Usman Buzdar said that the this victory is actually because of the shine of notes by which democracy has lost.

Faisal Vawda Can’t Be Disqualified, IHC says

Following Faisal Vawda’s case, the Islamabad High Court (IHC) has announced that it can’t disqualify Vawda as he has already resigned from the NA seat.

Woman Seat Secured By PTI

The woman seat from Islamabad is earned by PTI’s Fauzia Arshad who secured 174 votes while Opposition’s Farzana Kausar gained 164 votes.

Yousaf Raza Gilani Vs Abdul Hafeez Sheikh

After a major electoral battle, former Prime Minister and Opposition Leader Yousaf Raza Gilani secures victory against the ruling party’s Dr Abdul Hafeez Shaikh.

Yousaf Raza Gilani has gained 169 votes whereas Abdul Hafeez Shaikh could only gain 164 votes.

Soon after the announcement, SAPM Shahbaz Gill jumped in via his tweet to challenge Gilani’s victory.

In the Balochistan Assembly all 65 members cast their votes, with the last vote was cast by Mir Hamal Kalmati of the BNP.

Independent candidate Abdul Qadir, JUI-F’s Maulana Abdul Ghafoor Haideri and BNP’s Muhammad Qasim have each been elected to a general seat.

In the Sindh Assembly, 167 out of 168 members cast their votes as Jamaat-e-Islami member Abdul Rashid did not cast his vote.

MQM’s candidate for a women’s seat Khalida Ateeb won with 57 votes, while PPP’s Palwasha Khan also won with 60 votes.

In the Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Assembly, 140 votes out of 145 have been cast so far, with members present in the hall continuing to cast their remaining ballots.

Voting Opens

The voting process has begun at 9AM at the Parliament House. Shafiq Arain of Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) was the first lawmaker who cast his vote in the Senate elections followed by PTI’s Faisal Vawda.

The Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) had announced that the polls will be held as provided in the Constitution and Law as per past practice. According to the official announcement, ECP is taking all possible steps and measures to complete its constitutional duty to check that corrupt practices in the Senate polls are guarded against.

The voting process in the Senate can be complex and it only involves our elected representatives.

The Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) is likely to become the largest party in the upper house with 28 seats after the Senate Election 2021, while the number of government and opposition members in the 100-member house is expected to be almost equal.

PPP is likely to become the second-largest party with 19 seats, PML-N third with 18 seats, and Balochistan Awami Party fourth with 12 seats.

According to Election Commission officials, elections will be held for 48 Senate seats this time. There will be no elections for FATA seats, which will reduce the number of Senate seats from 104 to 10.

Adsense 300 x 250