AJK Elections 2021: Ground Set For 11th General Elections In Azad Kashmir

Aizbah KhanWeb Editor

25th Jul, 2021. 10:46 am
AJK Elections 2021: Ground Set For 11th General Elections In Azad Kashmir

The ground has been set for the 11th general elections in Azad Jammu and Kashmir (AJK).

According to the details, a total of 3,220,546 votes have been registered in 45 constituencies of the AJ Legislative Assembly while 2,817,000 voters are registered in 33 constituencies of the Azad Jammu Assembly.

Out of the remaining voters, 373,652 are registered in 6 constituencies representing refugees from Occupied Jammu and 29,804 are registered in 6 constituencies representing refugees from Occupied Valley.

There are a total of 43,456 registered voters in these 12 constituencies representing the refugees of Occupied Jammu and Kashmir.

1209 polling stations have been declared sensitive and 826 most sensitive while presiding officers have been assigned magisterial powers.

According to the Election Commission, polling in Azad Kashmir will continue till 5 pm without any break.

In Azad Kashmir, 587 candidates are contesting in 33 constituencies while 121 candidates are contesting in 12 constituencies.

A total of 24 women candidates are contesting the elections. PML-N and PTI fielded two women candidates each while the Muslim Conference fielded one woman.

A total of about 43,500 personnel of Azad Kashmir Police, Civil Armed Forces and Army from other provinces will be deployed to maintain law and order in Azad Kashmir elections while the deployment of Army will be under Quick Reaction Force. Will be.

Earlier, Azad Kashmir Chief Secretary Shakeel Qadir Khan had said that 5,300 police personnel from Azad Kashmir, 12,000 from Punjab Police, 10,000 from Khyber Pakhtunkhwa and 1,000 from Islamabad Police were deployed to maintain law and order. 400 from the Frontier Constabulary and 3,200 from the Rangers.

In this regard, it was informed that 12 big contests are expected in 33 constituencies of Kashmir. Barrister Iftikhar Gilani of PML-N will contest against Khawaja Farooq of Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) on the seat of constituency 29 Muzaffarabad ۔

Similarly, in constituency LA-32, Raja Farooq of PML-N will contest against Ashfaq Zafar of Pakistan Peoples Party.

Constituency LA-3 PTI President and former Prime Minister Barrister Sultan Mehmood Chaudhry and PML-N candidate Chaudhry Saeed will face each other.

Besides, PTI candidate Sardar Tanwar Ilyas, PML-N’s Mushtaq Minhas and Raja Yaseen will contest in the LA-15 constituency.

The turnout in the elections will be more than 56%, the Chief Election Commissioner said
Chief Election Commissioner Justice (Retd) Abdul Rashid Suhlaria has expressed hope that the voter turnout in Azad Kashmir elections will be more than 56%.

Talking to the media in Muzaffarabad, he said that the election process will be completed in an efficient manner and there were complete security arrangements at sensitive polling stations.

He said that the turnout of women voters in the Azad Kashmir elections would be higher than before.

Earlier, the general elections in Azad Jammu and Kashmir were mainly contested by local leaders of the contesting parties.

In the 2006 general elections, the Jamaat-e-All Jammu and Kashmir Muslim Conference (AJKMC) competed with the Pakistan People’s Party (PPP) for power in Muzaffarabad.

Five years later, in the general election, the other contestants were the PPP and the PML-N, contesting seven months before the election, while the Azad Jammu Party was third.

PPP leader and then Prime Minister Yousuf Raza Gilani’s cabinet members and PML-N leader and then Punjab Chief Minister Shahbaz Sharif and his elder brother Nawaz Sharif had visited different areas and held elections. He had earlier addressed election rallies.

The Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) entered Azad Jammu and Kashmir in 2015 and the regional president Barrister Sultan Mehmood had contested the by-election after resigning from his assembly and won.

Adsence 300X250