GB Elections 2020: Are COVID-19 SOPs being implemented?

Syed Umarullah HussainiWeb Editor

15th Nov, 2020. 10:50 am
GB Elections 2020

Gilgit-Baltistan government announced standard operating procedures to deal with coronavirus threats at the polling stations.

According to the SOPs, the voters will be required to maintain a distance of six feet from each other during the polling.

According to the GB home secretary, 8,000 bags containing face covers, masks, gloves, and sanitizers were being dispatched for the polling staff.

Over half of the polling stations established in Gilgit-Baltistan have already been categorized sensitive.

Out of 1,141 polling stations, 577 were declared sensitive and 297 highly sensitive.

The Polling to elect the new legislative assembly began at 8:00 am in the morning and will last till 5:00 pm in the evening.

At least 330 candidates will contest this ballot exercise for the 33-member Gilgit-Baltistan Assembly. GB has 24 constituencies and its assembly has 33 seats.

A total of 745,361 voters will be voting for 23 constituencies across 1,160 polling stations on Sunday. Gilgit Baltistan region’s administration said at least 15,900 law enforcement personnel would be deployed for security purposes.

Many videos also surfaced on social media related to the implementation of COVID-19 SOPs.

PartyCandidate Constituency
Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) Fattaullah KhanGBA-2, Gilgit-II
Ubaidullah BaigGBA-6, Hunza
Raja Muhammad Zakaria KhanGBA-7, Skardu-I
Syed Majid AliGBA-11, Kharmang
Raja Azam KhanGBA-12, Shigar
Muhammad Khalid KhursheedGBA-13, Astore-I
Shamsul Haq LoneGBA-14, Astore-II
Nazir AhmedGBA-20, Ghizer II
Gulber Khan GBA-18
Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP)Amjad HussainGBA-1, Gilgit-I
Amjad Hussain GBA-4, Nagar-I
Muhammad IsmailGBA-24, Ghanche-III
Pakistan Muslim League Nawaz (PML-N) Muhammad AnwarGBA-16, Diamer-II
Ghulam MuhammadGBA-21, Ghizer-III
Independent Candidates Javed Ali ManwaGBA-5, Nagar-II
Wazir Muhammad SaleemGBA-9, Skardu-III
Nasir Ali KhanGBA-10, Skardu-IV
Haji Shah BaigGBA-15, Diamer-I
Nawaz Khan NajiGBA-19, Ghizer I
Mushtaq HussainGBA-22, Ghanche-I
Abdul HameedGBA-23, Ghanche-II
Majlis Wahdat-e-Muslimeen (MWM)Mohammad KazimGBA-8, Skardu-II

Adsence 300X250