Gilgit-Baltistan Elections 2020: Polling underway in GBLA-3

Syed Umarullah HussainiWeb Editor

22nd Nov, 2020. 09:37 am

The polling for the election in GBLA-3 Gilgit is underway under strict security measures.

According to the details, around 41360 voters will cast their votes in favor of their candidates during the election.

As many as 15 candidates will take part in the GBLA-3 Gilgit election. At least 73 polling stations have been set up including 31 for male, 35 female and 7 combined. Polling time is 8 am till 5 pm.

The election in GBLA-3 Gilgit was postponed due to the sudden demise of Pakistan Tehreek Insaf’s (PTI) President Syed Jafer Shah.

The Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) has secured a two-thirds majority in the Gilgit Baltistan Legislative Assembly after six independent candidates on Friday announced to join the party.

It is pertinent to mention here that seven candidates secured success in the Gilgit Baltistan polls as an independent candidate and six of them have so far joined the PTI, giving it the numbers in the legislative assembly to achieve the two-thirds majority in the house of 24 members.

The new induction had rose the number of PTI members in the legislative assembly to 16 including the six independent candidates besides also having the support of the Majlis-e-Wahdatul Muslimeen (MWM), which secured a seat during the polls.


Adsense 300 x 250