Women Cricket included in Commonwealth games

By Shiraz Shaikh - Web Editor

13th August, 2019

Women cricket has been included in Commonwealth games 2020.

International Cricket Council (ICC) also approved to include women cricket in commonwealth games 2020.

According to ICC eight teams will participate in 2020 commonwealth games. The teams will play T20 matches in the event.

The teams participating in the event are India, New Zealand, South Africa, England, Australia, Pakistan, Sri Lanka and West Indies.

Chief executive ICC Manu Sawhney said that, this is a historic moment for women cricket and world cricket fans. Women cricket is moving forward.

Manu Sawhney also said that he is happy commonwealth games association included women cricket T20 in the upcoming event being held in 2020.

ECB chief executive officer Tom Harrison said that he is delighted that women cricket is included in 2020 Birmingham commonwealth games.  The decision to include women cricket in commonwealth games will prove beneficial for the women cricket.

All eight matches will be played at Edgbaston cricket ground. In this same ground, England defeated Australia in the semifinal of men ICC world cup 2019.

Commonwealth games 2020 will start from 7 July and will end on 7 August. 18 different sports will be played during the event and 4500 athletes will participate.

You May Also Like

oxford Sci-Tech
07th Dec, 2019

Oxford organizes training and development for teachers

Teacher training and development programme was organized oxrford university press for teacher’s...

Lahore blast Pakistan
07th Dec, 2019

Explosion in Lahore kills 1 person

1 person killed in an explosion which occurred in the township area...

Punjab decides rules for transfers and postings Pakistan
07th Dec, 2019

Punjab decides rules for transfers and postings

A major decision has been taken after the change of important administrative...

India rape victim International
07th Dec, 2019

India rape victim died after being alight by a gang

India rape victim who was set on fire by alleged rapist along...