Quaid-e-Azam trophy begins in Lahore

Anum RizwanWeb Editor

14th Sep, 2019. 12:27 pm
Quaid e azam trophy

As announced by the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB), Quaid e Azam trophy is beginning today with the domestic structure.

According to details, six teams will begin competing in the Quaid-e-Azam Trophy first class tournament today.

A match is being played between Southern Punjab and Central Punjab in the Gaddafi Stadium. Southern Punjab’s captain Shaan Masood won the toss and chose to bat first.

Team of Central Punjab, which is led by Babar Azam, is bowling first.

Pakistan Cricket Board has given free entry to the cricket fans. Whereas, the first class matches can also be watched by live streaming.

First-class cricket is the most important tier for development and sustenance in any cricket playing nation and almost all Test playing nations have prestigious first-class competitions, which provide an identity to the domestic cricket played in that particular country.

In Pakistan’s domestic system, the Quaid-e-Azam Trophy holds that value and honour. The first-ever first-class match in Pakistan was played from 27-29 December, a few months after Independence, in which Sindh and Punjab faced-off at the Bagh-e-Jinnah Ground in Lahore.

This gave birth to the Quaid-e-Azam Trophy, named after Quaid-e-Azam Mohammad Ali Jinnah, who spearheaded the movement for independence and its first edition was held in the 1953-54 season.

Opening ceremony of the new domestic season of PCB was held last month.

According to details, the opening of new domestic season of Pakistan Cricket Board was held on Saturday, August 31, at the forend building of Gaddafi Stadium, Lahore.

Journalists, approved by the PCB were also invited to the ceremony.

A Q/A session was held after a detailed briefing, which was given in the ceremony regarding new domestic cricket structure.

However, Chairman PCB Ahsan Mani, Cheif Executive Wasim Khan and Director Domestic cricket, Haroon Rasheed became a part of the event.

Adsense 300 x 250