Double Click 728 x 90
Double Click 900 x 250

Sri-Lanka won the toss, chose to bat first in 3rd ODI

Aizbah KhanWeb Editor

02nd Oct, 2019. 02:22 pm
Double Click 160 x 600
Pakistan Sri-Lanka

Sri Lanka have won the toss and opted to bat against Pakistan in the third one-day international (ODI) at Karachi’s National Stadium.

Mohammad Amir struck the first blow in just the third over, making Sri Lankan opener Avishka Fernando nick one back to Sarfaraz Ahmed.

Pakistan lead the three-match ODI series 1-0, with the first ODI rained off in Karachi on Friday.

Imam-ul-Haq was not available for selection due to an injury in his left hand, which he sustained while fielding in the second ODI against Sri Lanka. Opening-batsman Abid Ali replaces him in the side.

Imad Wasim also misses out. He is replaced by Mohammad Nawaz.

Sri Lanka have made three changes to its squad with wicketkeeper Minod Bhanuka replacing Sadeera Samarawickrama to make his international debut. Angelo Perera and Lakshan Sandakan have also come into Sri Lanka’s final XI replacing Oshanda Fernando and Isuru Udana.

Pakistan beat Sri Lanka by 67 runs in the second ODI thanks to Babar Azam’s ton and Usman Shinwari’s five wickets in the last game.

Azam, currently one of the best batsmen in limited-overs cricket, smashed a solid 105-ball 115 to lift Pakistan to 305-7 after the home team won the toss and batted.

Shinwari then knocked off the top-order in figures of 5-51 as the visitors — depleted by the withdrawal of 10 top players who refused to tour over security fears — were bowled out for 238 in 46.5 overs.

Double Click 300 x 250

Download BOL News App for latest news