Naseem Shah makes cut in squad for the ICC U19

Ejaz Wasim Bakhri Reporter

06th Dec, 2019. 04:07 pm

Pakistan Cricket Board’s National Junior Selection Committee has announced 15-player squad for the ICC U19 Cricket World Cup 2020, which will be held in South Africa from 17 January to 9 February.

In-form wicketkeeper-batsman Rohail Nazir has been retained as captain, while prolific opener Haider Ali has been appointed as vice-captain, according to a press release issued by the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB).

The squad includes three openers, three middle-order batsmen, one wicket-keeper, three all-rounders, two spinners and three fast bowlers.

Saleem Jaffar, the chairman of Pakistan’s junior selection committee, after the meeting said that the players were picked on their “current performances”.

Naseem Shah, who made his Test debut against Australia recently, will play the ICC Under-19 World Cup.

Pakistan squad

Rohail Nazir (capt/wk), Wahid Bangalzai, Haider Ali, Mohammad Shahzad, Mohammad Harris, Mohammad Huraira, Mohammad Irfan Khan, Abbas Afridi, Fahar Munir, Qasim Akram, Amir Ali, Arish Ali Khan, Amir Khan, Naseem Shah, Tahir Hussain.

Adsense 300 x 250