Double Click 728 x 90
Double Click 900 x 250

Sri Lanka Declares at 308 in weather hit match against Pakistan

Syed Umarullah HussainiWeb Editor

15th Dec, 2019. 12:24 pm
Sri lanka

Sri Lanka declared their first innings on 308 for six against Pakistan on the fifth day at Rawalpindi.

Middle-order batsman Dhananjaya de Silva completed his century on Sunday, the weather hit match is heading for the tie.

Teams did not have a full day of play a in previous four days since the tourist Sri Lanka won the toss and chose to bat.

Right hander Silva stuck on 87 on the third day of the test.

Dilruwan Perera was not out on 16 when Sri Lanka captain called the pair in to allow his bowlers to have a go at Pakistan’s batsmen.

De Silva remained unbeaten on 102 after 241 minutes of batting, having come at the score of 127-4 on Thursday. He hit 15 boundaries. Dilruwan Perera remained unbeaten on 16.

Any good hopes for the historic match between Pakistan and Sri Lanka have been dashed due to rain. Bad Light also ended play on day one after 68.1 overs.

Only 18.2 overs were possible on day two, 5.2 on the third and the fourth day´s play was abandoned without a ball being bowled.

Pacers Naseem Shah took 2 for 92, while Shaheen Shah Afridi targeted two players on 58.

The test is the first after the ten years of time since attack on the Sri Lankan team bus that killed eight people in March 2009.

Sri Lanka 1st innings

D. Karunaratne lbw b Shaheen 59

O. Fernando c Sohail b Naseem 40

K. Mendis c Rizwan b Shinwari 10

A. Mathews c Shafiq b Naseem 31

D. Chandimal b Abbas 2

D. de Silva not out 102

N. Dickwella c Azam b Shaheen 33

D. Perera not out 16

Extras (b5, lb7, nb3) 15

Total (for six wkts, 97 overs) 308

Did not bat: V. Fernando, K. Rajitha, L. Kumara

Fall of wickets: 1-96 (Karunaratne), 2-109 (Fernando), 3-120 (Mendis), 4-127 (Chandimal), 5-189 (Mathews), 6-256 (Dickwella)

Bowling: Abbas 27-9-72-1, Shaheen 22-7-58-2 (nb3), Shinwari 15-4-54-1, Naseem 27-5-92-2, Sohail 3-0-12-0, Masood 1-1-0-0, Shafiq 2-0-8-0

Pakistan: Shan Masood, Abid Ali, Azhar Ali, Babar Azam, Haris Sohail, Asad Shafiq, Mohammad Rizwan, Usman Shinwari, Mohammad Abbas, Naseem Shah, Shaheen Shah Afridi

Toss: Sri Lanka

Umpires: Richard Kettleborough (ENG) and Michael Gough (ENG)

TV umpire: Richard Illingworth (ENG)

Match referee: Andy Pycroft (ZIM)

Adsense 300 x 250

Download BOL News App for latest news