Sri Lanka won toss, elects to bat first against Pakistan

Syed Umarullah HussainiWeb Editor

11th Dec, 2019. 09:56 am
pakistan sri lanka

The long exiled test cricket returns to Pakistan after ten years, Sri Lanka has won the toss and elected to bat against Pakistan in the first Test at Rawalpindi Cricket Stadium on Wednesday.

Abid Ali and Usman Shinwari are making their Test debuts today.

The second Test of the series will be played at National Stadium in Karachi from December 19-23.

Earlier on Tuesday, Captain Azhar Ali while addressing the press conference said that all players are geared up to win home series against Sri Lanka.

Pakistan captain admitted that his team could not perform up to the mark during their tour down under.

“Pakistan will try to overcome the mistakes made against Australia and display good cricket versus Sri Lanka. We shall have to give an organized performance to win against the Islanders who always bat and bowl with discipline.

“It is very important for the skipper to perform well. I will try to score as many runs as I can. I want to always keep myself ready to handle the pressure as captain.

‚ÄúPakistan will enjoy the benefit of home grounds. The playing XI will be decided after examining the pitch.‚ÄĚ


Pakistan: Shan Masood, Abid Ali, Azhar Ali (capt.), Babar Azam, Haris Sohail, Asad Shafiq, Mohammad Rizwan (wk), Usman Khan Shinwari, Mohammad Abbas, Naseem Shah, Shaheen Afridi

Sri Lanka: Dimuth Karunaratne (capt), Oshada Fernando, Kusal Mendis, Dinesh Chandimal, Angelo Mathews, Dhananjaya de Silva, Niroshan Dickwella (wk), Dilruwan Perera, Vishwa Fernando, Kasun Rajitha, Lahiru Kumara

Adsense 300 x 250