Ben Stokes wins ICC player of the year title

Arhama AltafWeb Editor

15th Jan, 2020. 02:50 pm
Ben Stokes

Ben Stokes wins Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy

Ben Stokes, vice-captain of England’s team, named the International Cricket Council (ICC) player of the year.

England all-rounder Ben Stokes has won the prestigious Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy for the ICC Player of the Year.

He won the trophy after a fabulous 12 months that saw him play a decisive role in England’s dramatic victory at the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2019.

Stokes aggregated 719 runs and bagged 12 wickets in 20 ODIs during the voting period.

He kept his nerve to smash an unbeaten 84 in the final against New Zealand.

He also scored 821 runs and took 22 wickets in 11 Tests, the highlight being an unbeaten 135 to win a nail-biting Ashes thriller in Leeds.

Stokes said it was a huge honour for any cricketer to receive such an award.

“To be recognized and be the person to win that (award) it´s pretty amazing,” he said in a video statement.

During the voting period, Stokes aggregated 719 runs and bagged 12 wickets in 20 ODIs.

Ben Stokes agrees to swap his victories to get dad out of hospital

He also scored 821 runs and took 22 wickets in 11 Tests.

Stokes elated at winning the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy but remembered to credit his team and support staff.

While, Australia fast bowler Pat Cummins named the Test Player of the Year.

India opener Rohit Sharma named the ODI Player of the Year in other major men’s ICC awards announced.

India seamer Deepak Chahar won T20I Performance of the Year, Australia’s Marnus Labuschagne, named as Emerging Cricketer of the Year.

Moreover, Scotland’s Kyle Coetzer is the Associate Cricketer of the Year.

India captain Virat Kohli has won the Spirit of Cricket Award.

He won the award for his gesture at the World Cup, when he egged the crowd on to support Steve Smith rather than boo him soon after his return to international cricket from a one-year suspension for changing the condition of the ball.

Kohli had named captain of both the ICC Test and ODI teams of the year.

Virat Kohli had swept the Player of the Year, Test Player of the Year and ODI Player of the Year last year.

ICC Chief Executive Manu Sawhney congratulated the winners of the awards this year and wished them all the best for the future.

He said, “On behalf of the ICC, I would like to congratulate all of the individual 2019 award winners as well as those players named in the ICC Teams of the Year.”

ICC Men’s Cricket Awards: 

Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy for Best Cricketer of the Year – Ben Stokes (England)

Test Cricketer of the Year – Pat Cummins (Australia)

ODI Cricketer of the Year – Rohit Sharma (India)

T20I Performance of the Year – Deepak Chahar (India, 6-7 v Bangladesh)

Emerging Cricketer of the Year – Marnus Labuschagne (Australia)

Associate Cricketer of the Year – Kyle Coetzer (Scotland)

Spirit of Cricket Award – Virat Kohli stopping the fans booing Steve Smith at the Oval

David Shepherd Trophy for Umpire of the Year – Richard Illingworth

Adsense 300 x 250