Laureus World Sportsman of the year shared among Messi, Hamilton

Syed Umarullah HussainiWeb Editor

18th Feb, 2020. 11:28 am
Laureus World

Laureus World Sportsman of the year award shared among Argentine Football Star Leo Messi and Formula One driver Lewis Hamilton at a gala that took place in Berlin.

As per details Argentine Football Star Leo Messi and Formula One driver Lewis Hamilton shared Laureus World Sportsman of the year award.

Leo Messi, who is the first football player to win the individual award, shares the honour with Formula 1 driver Lewis Hamilton, who had the same number of votes.

This is also the first draw in the history of the awards, which has its 20th anniversary this year. After previously being nominated five times, Messi has finally got his hands on the prize.

The Barça striker succeeds Novak Djokovic, and won the award ahead of the likes of Rafael Nadal, Marc Márquez, marathoner Eliud Kipchoge and golfer Tiger Woods.

The new award serves to round off a successful 2019, along with the achievement of the Golden Shoe, the Ballon d’Or, The Best and the Pichichi.

In 2020, Messi has already reached his 500th victory with Barça, and currently leads the table for league goals and assists.

Laureus World Sportswoman

Gymnastics star Simone Biles named the Laureus Sportswoman of the Year for the third time.

Biles won five gold medals, including a record fifth all-around title, at the 2019 world championships in Stuttgart.

That made her the most decorated gymnast ever at worlds with 25 medals.

“There cannot be many sportsmen or women who dominate their sports the way she has in gymnastics,” five-time Olympic gold medalist Nadia Comaneci said. “We have to keep remembering that she is just 22, and she is likely to win another stack of gold medals in the Tokyo Olympics.”

Lewis Hamilton

Hamilton won his sixth Formula One championship.

Adsence 300X250