Double Click 728 x 90
Double Click 900 x 250

PSL 5: National Stadium all set for first match b/w Lions and Gladiators

Syed Umarullah HussainiWeb Editor

20th Feb, 2020. 09:48 am
Double Click 160 x 600
National Stadium

National Stadium in Karachi is all set to witness the thrilling first match of much awaited Pakistan Super League (PSL 5) between defending champions Quetta Gladiators and two-time winners Islamabad United.

The inaugural match in National Stadium will be played after a colourful opening ceremony of the six-team tournament.

The 34-match extravaganza the biggest cricket tournament to take place in Pakistan after the Asia Cup in 2008.

The Gladiators will be led by Pakistan’s former captain and wicketkeeper-batsman Safaraz Ahmed, who has been leading this side since the inception of Pakistan Super League.

However , a young allrounder Shadab Khan is leading the Islamabad United team for the first time.

Quetta Gladiators Team

Shane Watson and Ben Cutting, batsman Jason Roy, English fast bowler Tymal Mills and Keemo Paul,  Ahmed Shehzad, Umar Akmal, Khurram Manzoor and Sarfaraz, and bowlers Sohail Khan, Mohammad Hasnain, Mohammad Nawaz.

Islamabad United  Team

Dale Steyn and Colin Ingram, spinner Colin Munro and wicketkeeper-batsman Luke Ronchi Phil Salt and Dawid Malan, Asif Ali, Faheem Ashraf and Shadab Khan, bowlers Muhammad Musa, Rumman Raees, Hussain Talat.

Earlier, Islamabad United captain Shadab Khan on Wednesday said his team woill give a tough time to Quetta Gladiators.

“Outside the ground we are friends, but while playing in the field no one goes easy against their opponent,” Shadab said.

Shadab, addressing a press conference with Sarfaraz, added that his side was “very well-balanced” and could perform “at any given day”.

“The team is very well-balanced. All my players are competitive and can perform at any given day,” he said.

Gladiators’ skipper Sarfaraz, when asked whether his absence from the national fold could trouble him, said that he will be firing on all cylinders in the tournament.

“I aim to perform well as a captain and as an individual and am hopeful that things will get better in the future,” Sarfaraz said.

PSL Trophy Unveiled

The Pakistan Super League trophy was unveiled at Karachi’s National Stadium on Wednesday.

Five of the six captains were present at the unveiling ceremony. Sarfaraz Ahmed (Quetta Gladiators), Darren Sammy (Peshawar Zalmi), Shadab Khan (Islamabad United), Imad Wasim (Karachi Kings) and Sohail Akhtar (Lahore Qalandars) were present at the trophy unveiling ceremony.

The trophy was brought to the stadium by legendary squash player Jahangir Khan.

Jahangir carried the silverware to the field of play and handed it over to defending captain Sarfaraz Ahmed of the Quetta Gladiators.

PSL Winner Will Get $500,000 Cash Prize

The PSL 2020 winner of Pakistan Super League will get $500,000 cash prize while the runners up will receive a cheque of $200,000.

According to the statement issued by PSL management, the tournament will be carrying total prize money of $ 1 million, with $ 4,500 fixed for each player which will be awarded at the end of each match.

It states that $ 80,000 will equally be distributed to cricketers of the tournament; the top batsman, best bowler and for the spirit of cricket award.

Double Click 300 x 250

Download BOL News App for latest news