Double Click 728 x 90
Double Click 900 x 250

Prime Minister congratulates Pakistani Team for winning Kabaddi World Cup

Syed Umarullah HussainiWeb Editor

17th Feb, 2020. 09:02 am
Double Click 160 x 600

Prime Minister Imran Khan has congratulated Pakistan Kabaddi Team for winning the World Cup, beating India in the finals with 43-41 by 43 to 41 points.

He Tweeted:

Earlier, Pakistan won the Kabaddi World Cup 2020 after beating arch rival India by 43 to 41 points in a nail biting final match at Punjab Stadium in Lahore.

Pakistan has won the Kabaddi World Cup for the first time.

Pakistan was awarded a cash prize of ten million rupees along the trophy while Indian team was given seven point five million rupees cash prize.

Pakistan and India beat their respective opponents Iran and Australia in the semifinals at Punjab Stadium Lahore. Pakistan had defeated Iran 52-30 and India beat Australia 42-32.

Pakistan has qualified for the finals fifth time in the history of Kabaddi World Cup.

Finals will be held today at 7 pm at Punjab Stadium Lahore.

Australia will fight with Iran in the third play-off before the decider.

Iran offered good assistance in the first few minutes. Both were locked 6-6 at one stage. But Pakistan played well and extended the lead with a good pace.

Pakistan was leading 29-17 at half time. It then beat Iranians with a good margin in the second half.

Shehzad Akmal Dogar, Sajjad Gujjar, Nafees Gujjar, and Waqas Butt performed well in the middle.

 Kabbadi World Cup opening ceremony

Sajjad Gujjar was named as the best stopper whereas Waqas butt was declared as the best raider of the clash.

The match was supervised by Asif Rasheed and Fazal Haq Gujjar.

Pakistan Kabaddi Federation (PKF) secretary Mohammad Sarwar said, “It would be a tough final as both are good teams,”

“But Pakistan will play in front of the home crowd and that point can be exploited by our players,”

On the other hand, India beat Australia in semi-finals. India was leading 28-14. It succeeded with 42-32 at the end.

Ravi Prakash was awarded as the best raider. Amritpal Singh was awarded as the best defender.

Double Click 300 x 250

Download BOL News App for latest news