Double Click 728 x 90
Double Click 900 x 250

PSL 5: United, Gladiators to face for second time at Rawalpindi today

Syed Umarullah HussainiWeb Editor

27th Feb, 2020. 02:32 pm
Double Click 160 x 600
PSL 5 today

Defending champions Quetta Gladiators will face the two-time champions Islamabad United for the second time in the Pakistan Super League (PSL) season five today.

Rawalpindi will host a PSL match for the first time in history.

Both teams are at the top of points table as they have played three matches and have secured four points each.

Gladiators defeated United in the opening fixture of the competition by three-wickets at National Stadium in Karachi.

Then they beaten by Zalmi and followed by a win against Karachi Kings on Sunday, February 23.

United after losing the opening match, defeated Multan Sultans.

They won a last-over thriller against Lahore Qalandars at Gaddafi Stadium in Lahore.

Sarfaraz Ahmed-led Quetta Gladiators will heavily rely on their batting as they have been the main element in their wins in this edition.

Promising young batsman Azam Khan has scored 59* and 46 in three matches.

Sarfaraz was also the main performer and led from the front with the bat in the last two matches.

They will also be expecting that their opening duo of Shane Watson and Jason Roy will fire at the top.

Naseem Shah and Mohammad Hasnain are the key players with the bowl with Mohammad Nawaz, their most consistent spinner since the start.

United will be highly confident after their last-over win against Qalandars where skipper Shadab Khan led from the front with the bat and bowl.

There bowling has yet to deliver in this tournament.

Experienced Dale Steyn yet to join United whereas they rely on Muhammad Musa in the powerplay to provide United quick wickets.

The match is expected to be a full house and will begin at 7 pm today.

Yesterday, Multan Sultans defeated Peshawar Zalmi by six wickets.

PSL 5 Squad

Peshawar Zalmi XI: Tom Banton, Kamran Akmal (wk), Haider Ali, Shoaib Malik, Liam Livingstone, Liam Dawson, Darren Sammy (capt), Wahab Riaz, Hasan Ali, Rahat Ali, Mohammad Amir Khan.

Multan Sultans XI: Shan Masood (capt), James Vince, Moeen Ali, Rilee Rossouw, Zeeshan Ashraf (wk), Khushdil Shah, Shahid Afridi, Sohail Tanvir, Mohammad Ilyas, Imran Tahir, Mohammad Irfan.

Banton and Akmal to open the innings. The wicket looks very flat. Irfan to start the proceedings.

Double Click 300 x 250

Download BOL News App for latest news