Double Click 728 x 90
Double Click 900 x 250

Asad Shafiq, Omair bin Yousuf join PSL 2020 teams

Arhama AltafWeb Editor

15th Mar, 2020. 12:34 pm
Double Click 160 x 600
PSL 2020

Cricketer Asad Shafiq and budding cricketer Omair bin Yousaf joined Multan Sultans and Quetta Gladiators squads respectively for the remaining matches of the Pakistan Super League (PSL) 2020.

Asad Shafiq and Omair bin Yousaf became part of the PSL V after Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) offered foreign players to leave Pakistan in the wake of COVID-19.

The decision taken after the World Health Organization (WHO) declared the virus a pandemic.

However, Asad Shafiq picked by Multan Sultans from the silver category.

Asad Shafiq will make up for the outgoing foreign players Rilee Rossouw and James Vince.

Similarly, Omair bin Yousaf made part of Quetta Gladiators squad as an emerging player.

Quetta Gladiators’ three foreign players Jason Roy, Tymal Mills and Keemo Paul left for their countries.

Moreover, Asad and Omair’s inclusions were approved by the Event Technical Committee.

The committee comprises of PCB Chief Executive Wasim Khan, Bazid Khan, Marina Khan, Sameer Khosa and Dr. Sohail Saleem.

Earlier, many foreign players PSL are preparing to leave Pakistan amid Coronavirus worries.

According to sources, PCB has given option to foreign players to withdraw from the game.

England players are ready to leave the league and go back, sources said.

PCB said in a statement that the board asked players to withdraw from the league; any player has the option to do so.

‘Even if a local player does not want to play a match, he is allowed to leave’, said PCB sources.

On the other hand, the PCB  has also decided to postpone the Pakistan Cup.

List of Foreign Players who left PSL:

Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) has allowed all the foreign players, to leave Pakistan after cases of coronavirus reported in Pakistan.

PCB has also rescheduled all the remaining matches.

Sources confirm that the following players left the remaining matches of the tournament.

  1. Quetta Gladiators: Jason Roya and Tymal Mills
  2. Karachi Kings: Alex Hales
  3. Multan Sultans: James Vince and Rilee Rossouw
  4. Peshawar Zalmi: Carlos Brathwaite, Liam Dawson, James Foster (coach), Lewis Gregory and Liam Livingstone, Tom Banton
Double Click 300 x 250

Download BOL News App for latest news