ICC pays tribute to Sana Mir celebrating her 15-year career

Syeda Nadira Mushtaque Reporter

26th Apr, 2020. 01:33 pm
Sana Mir

Former Pakistan skipper Sana Mir’s illustrious career celebrated on social media after she announced her retirement from international cricket on Saturday, 25 April.

Sana Mir made 226 international appearances in her 15-year long career since her debut in 2005, also leading the side in 137 matches.

She claimed 151 wickets in 120 ODIs and 89 wickets in 106 T20Is with her off-spin, and scored 2,432 international runs.

Sana, her country’s leading ODI wicket-taker was also the first female cricketer from Pakistan to take 100 wickets in the format.

Her teammates shared special messages, cherishing the experience of playing with her over the years.

Past and present cricketers from other teams also took to social media to congratulate Mir on a stellar career.

Sana Mir – International Career:


On 4 May 2009, Mir was handed the Pakistan captaincy for the Women’s World Twenty20. Mir retained the captaincy for the forthcoming 2010 ICC Women’s Cricket Challenge in South Africa.


At the 2010 Asian Games, Mir led the team to a gold medal.


By Winning the National Championship for the fourth time in a row, Sana Mir has become the most successful captain of Pakistan at domestic level. Her team has yet to lose a game at domestic level in the past four years.

Sana Mir also led the Pakistan team to their first ever tournament win in both the T20 and ODI formats when they played in Sri Lanka in 2011.

Moreover, the teams in the quadrangular cup were Sri Lanka, Pakistan, Ireland, and the Netherlands.

She was also awarded the Women of the Match title in the T20 quadrangular-cup final against the Netherlands.

World Cup Qualifiers 2012: The women’s team has qualified for the 2012 T20 and 2013 Women’s ODI world cup under her captaincy.

For the first time ever, the team also beat South Africa, thereby, improving their world ranking from 8 to 6.


At Domestic cricket, the ZTBL team has won the second BB tournament and 8th National championship under her Captaincy. This makes it 6 in a row.

However, Sana Mir became the first woman cricketer to receive PCB Woman cricketer of the Year Award 2013.

Pakistan women team showed their best performance on a European tour in 2013. The team has beaten England for the first time in any format and levelled the t20 series.

Furthermore, the team has won 11 matches in a row. After the completion of this tour Pakistan women’s team has 6 members in ICC top 20 players ranking.


At Domestic cricket, the ZTBL team has won the first ever BB tournament and 7th National championship under her Captaincy.

This makes it 5 in a, Mir has become the first ever female cricketer from Pakistan to be awarded Tamgha-e-Imtiaz on 23 March 2012, for her services in cricket.


In October 2018, she was named in Pakistan’s squad for the 2018 ICC Women’s World Twenty20 tournament in the West Indies.

Adsense 300 x 250