Kane Williamson wins men’s ODI Player of the Year title

Syed Umarullah HussainiWeb Editor

30th Apr, 2020. 03:32 pm
Kane Williamson

New Zealand Skipper Kane Williamson named the men’s ODI Player of the Year at the annual New Zealand Cricket awards for his stellar performance throughout the year.

Media reports said awards were presented online for the first time due to the COVID-19 pandemic. Kane Williamson had a hugely successful year, both individually and with the New Zealand team, which he led to the World Cup final. At the World Cup, Williamson scored 578 runs at an average of 82, including two centuries, which culminated in him being named player of the tournament.

New Zealand head coach, Gary Stead said “Kane was simply exceptional at the ICC Cricket World Cup last year,”  “Kane fully deserved his selection. He builds great partnerships with our well-established middle order and when he bats deep in an ODI innings, we’ll invariably be in a good position to win most of those matches. “He leads the team well, he has his own style and certainly the respect of his peers. His calm, purposeful demeanour flows through his leadership and, in turn, the team,” he added.

Ross Taylor and White Ferns skipper Sophie Devine took home the men’s and women’s T20 Player of the Year award respectively, while Suzie Bates was rewarded for her consistency with the bat as she claimed the women’s ODI player of the year.

Veteran Black-caps batsman Taylor scored 330 runs at a strike-rate of 130 to take home the honour in the shortest format of the game. “A man of Ross’ international experience is very valuable in the fast and furious nature of T20 cricket,” Stead said.

Adsense 300 x 250